Guiding sailors home

In contrast to our disappointment about the Point Clark lighthouse was our delight at the Kincardine Lighthouse.  It is a beautiful, quaint old lighthouse located in the downtown area right beside the yacht club (more sailboats = Cindy very happy :)).  The Bruce Coast Lighthouse Tour pamphlet describes it as follows:

“Built into the Kincardine harbour hillside in 1874 to service a busy fishing and local salt shipping industry, this octagonal wooden tower is the only lighthouse ‘downtown’.  The Kindardine lighthouse sits 24.4 metres (74 feet) tall, atop a two-storey keeper’s house. Sailors, recreational boaters, and commercial fishers can see the now electrified working light from 30 kilometres.  The Kincardine Yacht Club hosts a marine museum inside.”

We paid a nominal fee and received a tour of the inside of the keeper’s house and the lighthouse, climbing all the way to the top, with our tour guide providing a very interesting history lesson and me snapping photos every step of the way.  Here are some pictures of the outside of the lighthouse – the first one kind of looks like a postcard don’t you think?  It was really nice to see how well maintained it is and that we weren’t the only ones interested in a tour that day because it’s important not to forget the history of these small towns and harbours.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Exploring, Famous Landmarks, Harbours, History, Kincardine, Ontario, Lake Huron, Lighthouses, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Guiding sailors home

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    How wonderful these light houses are, so quaint …

    • They are wonderful, and I loved the fact that this one was full of old photographs and other memorabilia so that you could learn the history of the lighthouse and the area around it, including information about all the famous shipwrecks in the area.

  2. dorannrule says:

    Oh, that one is a real beauty – and obviously so well cared for too! 🙂

  3. sayvan says:

    I have got to do this tour…. I would love to spend a “scary” night in one of these. I am sure they are haunted from the sailors of the past……

    • Ooooh, you need to go over to Toronto Island to see the Gibraltar Point Lighthouse. They say it is haunted by the first lighthouse keeper who was murdered there in 1815. When I was a kid we used to take our boat over to Hanlan’s Point and then I would bike over to the lighthouse because I was always really into that stuff!! I never saw the ghost though :(. As for Kincardine, you should read the story of the Phantom Piper. It’s really cool, and they actually still have a piper who climbs out through the little door at the top of the lighthouse every night at dusk in the summer to play the bagpipes. He must be brave or drunk because there is not much room out there, and the railing is only about 2 feet high. Yikes!!

  4. Brilliant photos! I love lighthouses. I’m not sure why – there’s just something about them. When I was younger I went through a phase of wanting to live in one!

    PS. If these were postcards, I would definitely buy them!

    • Ooooh, I pictured a story out of your comment – girl living in lighthouse, stormy night, she stands looking out the window at the waves crashing on the beach, and then….. something very mysterious happens!!! LOL. Sometimes my mind just starts thinking random things :). By the way, thanks for liking my “postcards”.

  5. TBM says:

    There is something special about them…so quaint and romantic. Nice shots Cindy!

    • Hmmm, you just gave me an idea. Wouldn’t that be a great spot for some romantic couple shots? I don’t think they allow people to go outside at the top (the railing is only about 2 feet high), but if they did that would be an awesome place to take my son and his girlfriend to do some unique portrait photography (you know, staring into each other’s eyes and all that goopy stuff LOL :). Thanks TBM!

  6. Jeff Sinon says:

    Great lighthouse. The last photo is definitely my favorite of the bunch, well done! 🙂

    • Thanks Jeff :). I really like the last one too. I still have one more to show you, probably on Saturday since tomorrow is mystery photo day. It’s a shot taken from the very bottom of the lighthouse looking up – very cool perspective. I think you will like it!

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        For crying out loud Cindy, last week was piano keys, and now this week you’re coming right out and telling me what the “mystery photo” is going to be? Where’s the challenge in that?

        😛 😛 😛

        p.s. can’t wait to see it 😉

      • Jeff, have you been drinking? LOL!!! I told you the lighthouse photo will be on Saturday silly, AFTER Friday’s mystery photo. Men really do have a problem with that “attention to details” thing don’t they? LMAO 🙂

  7. zelmare says:

    Gorgeous! That first one really is ‘postcard pretty’. 🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever seen a lighthouse on top of a house before.

  8. charming photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

