Travelling back in time

Today’s post is not about the quality of the photos but rather a trip back in time with photos from inside the lighthouse in Kincardine, Ontario.  The rooms were small and some items were in glass cabinets which of course is very hard to photograph through, but I wanted to give you some idea of how authentic they have made this lighthouse by filling it full of interesting memorabilia from its early days. The lighthouse keeper lived here with his family, and this first photo shows one of the bedrooms complete with an old sewing machine and little baby carriage.  I was going to use another version of this photo that I took using my flash, but I decided that I liked the shadows in the room from my original photo because it gives it more atmosphere.

Here are some other wonderful old pieces of history:

Since the beginning, many fuels have been used to power lighthouses, including:  whale oil, Colza oil, coal oil, kerosene, acetylene and finally electricity.  Some lighthouses are even solar powered now.

The first lamp in the Kincardine lighthouse had shutters rotated by weighted chains to make the light flash. In 1922, the lamp became electrically powered and, today, large lenses rotate around a 500-watt bulb.

Last but not least is a photo for my fellow photography lovers out there.  This is a camera from the 1890’s which I believe was used by one of the lighthouse keepers.  He took many photos of the area over the years, and they were all on display on the lower level of the keeper’s house.  I’m sorry about the reflection from the glass case, but isn’t this camera a beauty? 🙂

So, there you have it!  I hope you enjoyed my trip back in time :).

This entry was posted in Blogging, Exploring, Famous Landmarks, Harbours, History, Kincardine, Ontario, Lake Huron, Lighthouses, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Travelling back in time

  1. So neat, you bet I enjoyed it!

  2. zelmare says:

    What a charming house. I was wondering what it looked like inside… 🙂

  3. bulldogsturf says:

    That was a great trip back…

  4. pennycoho says:

    Cindy that was wonderful. Gorgeous photos and a view of the past was very enjoyable! 🙂

  5. beckyday6 says:

    Wow, this is very cool! And the quality of the photo’s are just fine. 😉

  6. sayvan says:

    yep… I gotta check these places out!

  7. dorannrule says:

    I always did want to be a time traveler and now you’ve gone and shipped me off to 1890. I can just picture the lighthouse keeper’s wife spinning wool and sewing in the shadows of her room. Or was that his room too? Didn’t they have king size beds in those days? Love this post Cindy…great photos and you fire the imagination.

  8. Glad you enjoyed it Dor :)! With the way they had the keeper’s house set up with all of the authentic pieces, it was really easy to let your mind wander and imagine what it was like back then. You mentioned time travelling – have you ever read the book, “The Time Traveller’s Wife”? They made a movie out of it too. I really enjoyed it, although it was mind boggling at points trying to wrap my mind around the concept of time travel. It’s a beautiful love story :).

  9. Cindy, I always loved lighthouses, but never been in one that had rooms! This is really fantastic!

    • I have always had a fascination with lighthouses too. I guess I get it from my dad who actually has a whole collection of little lighthouses. It was fun to share these photos with everyone, and I’m really glad you liked them :).

  10. I have never been to a lighthouse, but now I so want to after looking at these!

Leave a Reply

