Leave me alone, I’m reading!

Since the day I could successfully put letters together to form words, I have been addicted to reading.  As a child, I read anywhere and any time, and once into a good book I fell into that world and became part of it.  I would read curled up in my bed, on the deck of our sailboat, or in front of the TV.  It didn’t matter.  The only place I couldn’t read as a child was in the car because I got terribly car sick.  Thankfully, I grew out of that and now read in the car as well.  Many times, when called for supper, I would arrive at the table with my face in a book and had to be told over and over to put it down and eat.  While I have many other hobbies, including photography and computers, reading has always been and will always be my number one hobby.  There is absolutely nothing better than losing yourself in a good story!!

Having explained all of this, you might understand now why I have been like a little child at Christmas over the last few weeks waiting for the release of a book that I have been anticipating for over a year.  I came upon the first book in the series, A Discovery of Witches, by Deborah Harkness quite by accident back in February, 2011 when it was released, and there was nothing that could make me put that book down.  The author’s website describes it like this: “A reluctant witch. A 1500-year-old vampire. A mysterious manuscript known as Ashmole 782. The story begins with a discovery of witches…”.  Now, I know what you are thinking, “oh no, not another vampire book!!”, but you have to trust me that this is very different because this is written for adults, and it is the first novel written by a well-regarded historian of science and medicine, specializing in the fifteenth through seventeenth centuries, who is also a professor of history at the University of Southern California.

So yes, the main characters are a witch and a vampire, but the book is full of history and science and boggles the brain with theories on alchemy and the origins of the four types of creatures – vampires, witches, daemons, and humans. Today the much anticipated day finally arrived with the release of the second book in the series, Shadow of Night, and my friend and I barely made it through our morning at work waiting for lunch so that we could drive to the nearest book store to pick up our copies.  My husband left on a week long business trip today and my kids have been warned not to bug me, so I will be free to read every free moment that I have (when I’m not working on my blog :)).  So, for today’s photos, here are two shots of the front cover of the new book.  Isn’t it gorgeous?  If you like to read about supernatural creatures, are interested in history and science, and like to challenge yourself to think outside of the box, I would definitely recommend giving this series a try.  You won’t regret it!  Ok, gotta go – my book is calling….

This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, History, Hobbies, Photography, Reading, Science and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Leave me alone, I’m reading!

  1. thefinestway says:

    Reblogged this on thefinestway.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Woop woop! Isn’t it great when you get that excited about the release of a book? I hope it doesn’t let you down, and that the second book will be as good as the first! 🙂 I’m really looking forward to reading my copy of A Discovery of Witches now, your enthusiasm is catching. I love a well researched, especially if it’s based around the supernatural!

    Happy reading! And don’t you dare interrupt your reading time by replying to my comment, it can wait until you’ve read AT LEAST two chapters. 😉

    • LOL!!! I’m at work unfortunately, so I can’t read until lunch time :(. I got to page 100 last night, and it is amazing just like I knew it would be. I must agree with what someone posted on Facebook today though – it is mindbending!! Because of all of the history and descriptions of alchemy, etc. in this series, and now the introduction of time travel, my mind is being pushed to its limits, but I love it!! I hope you get a chance to read it soon because I would love to hear what you think :).

  3. pennycoho says:

    thank you, thank you, thank you! I loved that book and now a sequel. The breeze you feel is me racing out the door to buy Shadow of Night! I agree with you an outstandingly good read. I recommend it to everyone! 😀

  4. dorannrule says:

    Not the type of book I usually indulge in, but on your dubious recommendation I will look it up and may even try the first in the series. Aren’t you afraid you will have nightmares? 🙂

    • Once in a while it’s nice to try something different. You should give it a try. It may not be your cup of tea, but on the other hand you may absolutely love it!! And no, it’s not scary – there’s definitely suspenseful parts, but it’s not nightmare material :).

Leave a Reply

