Mystery Photo #53

I don’t know if we could ever surpass the fun and craziness that we had last week with the mystery photo, but I am really excited about this week’s close-up shot because I took it with my new extender tubes.  I have been so busy that I haven’t done much with the tubes since I bought them, but a few days ago I was feeling quite inspired and spent about a half an hour experimenting on manual mode with manual focus.  It’s amazing how much closer they allow you to get!!

Now, I’m pretty sure that this is going to be super challenging for everyone, and TBM and  LouAnn will probably start whining again (LOL – just kidding),  but I want everyone to give it their best try.  Then tomorrow or the next day I will show you some pictures of what this looks like from a normal distance, so that you can see the comparison.  I think you will be pretty amazed.

Time to play the mystery photo game, and I’m posting this earlier than usual to see if TBM will get in there and guess first :).  Ok, ready, set, go…..

This entry was posted in Blogging, Mystery Photo, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Mystery Photo #53

  1. where is TBM–I don’t want to go first

  2. this looks like the sleeve of my housecoat–have you been spying on me again young lady?

  3. okay, so no one else is here yet–is it a close up of a scrubby–one of those things you clean pots and pans with — I read about these once

  4. I am not going away until I get this–a clean honeycomb–okay now I am just getting silly–be back later to see what others guessed– if Mr Bunnykins gets it I am going to be mad!

  5. it’s the skin of your sons gekko or another reptile, and people accuse me of not paying attention.

  6. Jeff Sinon says:

    I’m thinking snake skin, real or imitation, or possibly fish scales.

  7. Oh boy, things are getting heated again LOL!!!!!

  8. dorannrule says:

    Do I really want to get into this guessing thing? I think it’s human skin.

  9. I think that Xandre and I as African’s are cheating because we used to find snake skins as kids so we have probably studied reptiles closer than most. Still I suppose we could be wrong it certainly wouldn’t be the first time.

  10. Hmmm….what are those little wafer thingys called? Ok that’s my guess…a little wafer thingy 🙂

  11. listening not listing–correct that for me will you–I know you have it in your power

  12. It has almost a pearl-y look to it, and almost looks like confectionery cake.

  13. this blog has been taken over by homefront and bunny – move quietly to the side and no one will get hurt – where is TBM

  14. TBM — bunny is probably right again–we just have to bow to his superior guessdom

  15. benzeknees says:

    At first glance I would have said the net you use to cook cottage ham, but then I noticed the little tiny bubble looking things up near the top, so now I would guess it’s some type of sloughed reptile skin because of the different size of scales.

  16. ok it’s Saturday now, I want to know if it’s time to collect my prize yet?

  17. Ok, as Mr. Bunny Chow has so patiently pointed out (LOL), it is Saturday morning, and the impossible has happened. I think you guys actually surpassed the humour content of last week, and it seems as if my Friday blog has now become a chat room :). I had a very busy and stressful day yesterday at work, but LouAnn, TBM, and Mr. Bunny Chow kept me smiling all day.

    Now for the reveal……drum roll please……..Many people were on the right track this week recognizing that it was some type of skin, but Mr. Bunny Chow is the winner because he correctly identified it as shed skin from my son’s leopard gecko, Zipper. I am very proud of you, Mr. Bunny Chow, for how far you have come in this great game of guessery, and I have been really enjoying how much you have managed to piss off LouAnn and TBM!! I am also very impressed with your research skills, going back in my blogs to find out Zipper’s name. By the way, my husband made up the word “guessery” and claims that it is part of the new Webster’s Dictionary, and if it’s not he’s sure it will be recognized this year.

    Now, we are on our way out this morning to try and do the impossible – find an idea for a Christmas gift for my husband, the man who has everything – but tune in tonight because I am going to expand on this blog by showing you the unzoomed source of the mystery photo. You are going to be truly amazed (or grossed out for some). Great job everyone and thank you for making my Fridays so much fun :).

Leave a Reply

