Patience IS a virtue

Remember yesterday when I said “if I had left about a half an hour earlier…..”?  Well, this morning I had to get to work early for a meeting, and as a result the fog was just perfect as I was driving down the highway.  I didn’t have time to stop more than once this time, so I drove along patiently until I thought it just couldn’t get any better, and then I pulled off to the side and grabbed my camera.  I know I told you I would show you more pictures from yesterday, and I still will, but tonight I am just too excited to hold off on sharing today’s shots.

If you read my comments from yesterday, you will see that Jeff Sinon suggested the use of HDR software to help with my blown out sun in the sky.  Today the sun co-operated quite nicely creating a star-like effect that made me jump for joy, but I still decided to try bracketed exposures, and then ran them through a trial version of HDR Efex Pro 2.  Here are my results.

This entry was posted in Atmosphere, Blogging, Dundalk, Ontario, Fog, HDR, Landscapes, Nature, Photography, Rural Photography, Sunsets/Sunrises, Sunshine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Patience IS a virtue

  1. krikitarts says:

    Great start, Cindy. And keep listening to Jeff’s suggestions. Love your second shot especially.

    • Thanks Gary – the second one is my favourite too :). I love all of the suggestions that I get from my fellow bloggers, but I have trouble keeping up with them. I keep trying to stuff new information into my brain and keep it there for future reference, but I think I’m running out of room LOL!

  2. bulldogsturf says:

    These are magnificent shots… beautiful… love that star effect of the sun…

  3. benzeknees says:

    Very nice, even though I know next to nothing about photography (except I like to look at good pictures).

  4. TBM says:

    Looks like a lovely drive too work, too bad you were on your way to work 😉

    • Hey, that’s what I say every morning, “too bad I’m on my way to work”. LOL!! The drive sure is a lot more beautiful though than the one I had when I lived in the city. I think I truly am a country girl now :).

  5. ladyfi says:

    Wow wow wow – fabulous shots!

  6. beauty – don’t understand all the photography gobbley-gook (and I was a photographer for my newspaper at one time–so what does that tell you) but really enjoy the pics

  7. dorannrule says:

    Frame the second shot! It’s amazing! I love the star effect and have never seen that before. You could enter the photo in a contest. O.K. I’m raving.

    • Aww Dor, you always manage to make me feel really good about myself :). Thank you!! I was really, really excited about the star effect because I don’t think I have ever captured that before. To be honest, I don’t have a clue how I did it, but I like it too. Maybe I was just lucky to be at the right place at the right time of the morning.

  8. zelmare says:

    How beautiful Cindy! These are gorgeous, and no.2 is my favourite, too. 🙂

  9. Jeff Sinon says:

    Cindy, I have to agree with Gary, on both counts 😉 That second photo is my favorite of the three for several reasons. First, no power lines, always a huge plus in my book. Other reasons, the foreground fence and it’s shadows, the way the fog/mist lays across the field, and the silhouette of the distant trees, and the way the light plays on the grass. All make for an excellent photograph!

    • Thank you so much Jeff :). It’s so funny you know. When I reviewed the photos on my computer I was ticked off about the power lines, but I think I was just so excited at that moment about the fog and the beautiful lighting that I didn’t even notice the power lines. LOL

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        I’ve done that too. I am getting better at it, noticing things I don’t want in the frame that is. But I have to say, your photos “work” with the lines in them. You used them well. I just prefer not to have them. Next time try walking to the other side of the road and shooting under them so they’re not in the frame.

  10. PragueByKaty says:

    The shots and their soft colors are beautiful, I can almost breath the fresh cold air from it.

  11. Wow, Cindy, these shots are superb ! The star effect is amazing, did you use a special filter to create this effect ? I really love the tones of these photos and the second one is so beautiful !

  12. Thank you so much :). Believe it or not, I did not use a special filter. In fact, I have no idea how I achieved that effect. I guess I was just lucky that morning LOL! I was really happy with these photos though – they make me sigh in happiness :).

Leave a Reply

