Scenes on the Seine

Every famous city is known for its iconic symbols, like the Eiffel Tower in Paris, Big Ben in London, and the windmills in Amsterdam, but many cities have their iconic waterways too.  In Amsterdam it’s the canals, in London it’s the Thames River, and in Paris it’s the River Seine.  Growing up in a sailing family, I am drawn to water and always feel a sense of peace and happiness when near water.  As Mike and I strolled along the Seine in Paris, I couldn’t help but appreciate the incredible beauty that this majestic waterway adds to Paris.  These photos never fail to bring a smile to my face – I hope you enjoy them :).

Seine 1

Seine 2

 

Seine 3

Seine 4

Seine 5

Seine 6

Seine 7

Seine 8

Seine 9

This entry was posted in Adventure, Beauty, Blogging, Emotions, Exploring, Famous Landmarks, Happiness, Life Experiences, Memories, Paris, France, Peace and Quiet, Photography, Rivers, Scenery, Summer, Travel, Urban Photography, Vacations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Scenes on the Seine

  1. dogear6 says:

    Those are gorgeous! I especially liked the buildings along the river. If you ever invest in Topaz Labs, you could do some cool stuff with them – I mean, even more cool stuff. This is great the way it is, but that one third from the top? You could experiment on that for an entire evening.

    Nancy

    • It’s funny you should mention the third photo because I’m still not entirely happy with it. It was cloudy and getting dark, and it just looks blah, but I love the scene. I know a few people who use Topaz Labs, but I have never checked it out. I guess I should :).

      • dogear6 says:

        It’s all very monotone, including the sky. Still, the architecture is great and I love all the lines.

        Could I play with it? Would you mind? E-mail it to me full-size and I can either send it back to you to post or I’ll post is on my blog with a link to you. Yes, I have plenty of my own to play with, but nothing that looks like that. I really need to get cracking and find some cool architecture of my own to play with!

        Who knows? I might not be successful either. Or I might 🙂

      • Sorry, I have been busy all day and am only now catching up on comments. I would love to see what you could do with this photo. I’m not sure I have your email address though, so if you can send me a message at loonybin@sympatico.ca, I will send the photo to you. Thanks Nancy :). I actually downloaded a free trial of Topaz, but I don’t even know where to start LOL.

  2. dorannrule says:

    Oh so romantic! I always pictured the Seine as being congested – like a freeway now. It has been years since I was there. But I see the river is still delightful and your photos are too. 🙂

    • Paris definitely is a romantic city, and since this trip was planned because we had celebrated our 25th anniversary in June, it was the perfect place to start our celebration :). I’m glad you are enjoying the photos Dor.

  3. bulldog says:

    Oh these photos show a delightful river to cruise on… love the buildings and scenery, magnificent… and please tell me what is wrong with the third photo as I can see little to nothing wrong… I love the cloud cover shows the weather that day and the capture is clear, clean and sharp… so please explain what you want to do to change it… I’m no scenic photographer and want to learn from you pros, that one day, when I grow up, I can take photos like you lot…

    • You’re way too kind Bulldog :). I do love the photo, and the sky was overcast at the time, but it just seems a little dull to me. Sometimes I really like it the way it is, but other times I just think it needs a little boost.

  4. Your Scenes on the Seine (nice sound to that) are stirring up memories of the visit that Eve and I made to Paris (and London) in 1997. You’ve also reminded me of Guillaume Apollinaire’s famous poem about the Mirabeau Bridge over the Seine. I don’t know if you read French, but here are two English translations:

    http://unix.cc.wmich.edu/~cooneys/poems/fr/Mirabeau.trans.html

  5. The top picture is definitely my fave!

    • I think it’s that brilliant blue sky that make it one of my favourites too Book Buddy. I had such a difficult time narrowing it down to just a few photos to share. As you can imagine, I have hundreds and hundreds :).

  6. Especially love the one of Notre Dame

  7. TBM says:

    It was one of the first things I wanted to see when I went there. I’m always drawn to water, even though I get sick on any type of boat 🙂

Leave a Reply

