Mystery Photo #128

Today is a very exciting day.  My oldest son, Bryan, is coming home from college for the summer, and as a result I have a permanent ear to ear grin :).  I have missed him soooo much.  I know his summers at home won’t last forever, so I am looking forward to enjoying every moment with him, even though it means a higher grocery bill and more laundry LOL!  Hey, wait a minute.  He does his own laundry at college.  Maybe I could get him to take over that chore at home.  What do you think?

I hope all of you have an exciting weekend ahead of you too, or at least one that makes you feel happy and relaxed.  To get us all started, let’s play the mystery photo game.  I’m not sure if anyone will guess this correctly or not, but whatever the case I think it’s kind of a cool shot.  Ok, ready, set, go……

Mystery Photo #128

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Mystery Photo, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Mystery Photo #128

  1. Jeff Sinon says:

    Looks an awful lot like some rigging on a tall ship.

  2. as Jeff says it appears to be part of the rigging or more specifically cordage on a tall ship.

    I think you should forget about getting Bryan to do the laundry, I’ve not lived at home for 17 years, yet my mother has just been here for 3 weeks and took everything over, I didn’t want her to and I can no longer find half my underwear but she took it upon herself none the less.

  3. TBM says:

    uh, boat stuff. Can you tell I’m not a boat person? I’ve always wanted a boat, except for that whole seasickness issue. Oh and they’re expensive.

    As for getting Bryan to do the laundry over the summer. Good luck with that. I’m cautiously optimistic for you. Can’t believe his semester is over.

    • It sounds like a good idea doesn’t it? However, the chances of it happening are slim to nil :). As for boats, I wish my parents still had their sailboat. You could have come for a visit and we would have taken you out for a sail. There is nothing more peaceful than laying on the bow of the boat reading a good book and listening to the water rushing by.

  4. grahamatlinc says:

    Argh. It’s all shrouded 😉 in mystery me hearties. Where’s me bottle of rum.

  5. M & D says:

    EASY – Mast shroud tensioning tackles on a tall ship – we think!!!!!

  6. dorannrule says:

    Lifeboat rigging! And hurrah! Bryan’s coming home. Your happiness is catchy. 🙂

  7. I agree with everyone who has guessed so far–and I am happy for you that your boy is home

  8. beckyday6 says:

    Looks distinctly boatish to me, with a side of black paint.

    Wishing you the best of luck with trying to get Bryan to do his own laundry at home, as a fellow student I know you are rallying for a potentially hopeless cause, LOL!

  9. this is really part of your torture chamber and if your son eats too much or does not do his laundry he will be banned to this room–these are part of the torture series of stretching–by the time he goes back to school he will be 6’8″

  10. benzeknees says:

    This looks like part of the rigging on a ship, you know the old-fashioned kind with sails (like a pirate ship). Yeah, Brian is coming home! Definitely get him doing his own laundry – you wouldn’t want him to get out of practise!

    • He would do his own laundry if I asked him too, but it’s more economical for me to do it with everyone else’s because I have the jumbo washing machine that I can stuff a lot into. We used to pay a flat rate for water, but now we pay by how much we use, so I try and watch how much laundry I do.

  11. grahamatlinc says:

    It’s the Queens handbag. If you look carefully, you can see the faces of the equiries trapped inside. These tiny servants provide essential services on demand like laundry, hair billowing and fetching Prince Phillip a quick right hander when he gets too frisky. 🙂

  12. Vicki says:

    Great shot, but as to guessing. Well it has to be something ‘boatey’ or ‘shippy’ surely?

  13. bulldog says:

    Tall ship rigging??

  14. Sorry I’m so late in posting the answer this morning, but I have been unpacking Bryan’s stuff and getting laundry started. I want to get all his bedding and towels clean and packed away so that there is not as much to do in September when he goes back to school. Most of you knew that it was something on a ship, and most of you also referred to it as ship rigging (Jeff Sinon being the first correct answer). However, my daddy the sailor had the full nautical description. It is the mast shroud tensioning tackles on a tall ship. Good job everyone :).

  15. I know you are up and around–time for your answer

  16. Sorry I missed this on Friday Cindy. My husband, Alan and I took the day off on Friday to drive down to London and move my son home. Yahoo! I can’t believe he’s done his first year of university. It seems like yesterday we moved him to Western. I’m so happy he’s home and I know you’ll understand…it’s after 5pm n Sunday and I just put the last load of laundry in. My machine need a well deserved rest. 🙂

    • Both the machine AND you deserved a nice rest, I’m sure :). It’s a lot of work moving them back and forth isn’t it? I agree – time sure does fly. We moved Bryan home Friday night (in the rain), and I spent all day Saturday washing his bedding, towels, etc. so that I could organize everything and put it away for next year. I like to have it all clean and sorted into bins right away, so that in September all we have to do is pull out the bins and he’s ready to go. Luckily my hubby can get a truck from work because Bryan was in a room by himself (because he’s epileptic and needs his sleep), so he had big items too, like a couch and a coffee table. I don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted today! It’s sure nice to have them home though isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

