Mystery Photo #115

How do I hate thee Winter, let me count the ways:  chilly, freezing, frosty, frozen, glacial, icy, bitter, raw, and frigid.  That pretty much describes the past week around here, with temperatures dropping to -30C and sometimes even colder with the wind chill.  Now we are under a blowing snow warning for the weekend.  Arggghhhh!!!  I have officially had enough of winter and would like to move on to spring and summer pronto!

Anyway, you’re probably sick of me bitching about the weather, so let’s move on to something more fun.  How are the old neurons sparking this week?  I know my blogging friends are super smart, so let’s see who gets it right this week, and remember, try too be specific.  Ok, ready, set, go….

Mystery Photo #115

This entry was posted in Blogging, Mystery Photo, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Mystery Photo #115

  1. bulldog says:

    Not feeling well … give up… looks like some kind of radiator or cooling system…

  2. looks like some kind of circuit breaker to me, could be any sort of wiring setup.

  3. Vicki says:

    I’ll vote for a circuit breaker too…

  4. punch down block for tele/data wiring.

  5. TBM says:

    Uh, I’m not technical. So, um, yeah, I give up. What bunny says.

  6. you do know that if you show the inside of the alien craft they will no longer provide you with chocolate don’t you–you better make us think it is not part of their flying saucer so I am going to say the inside of a some kind of computer thingy

  7. I’m so with you on the weather Cindy. I’ve had it with this cold. I’m going to say it’s a fuse box. Let me know if I’m right. Stay warm.

  8. HoaiPhai says:

    It looks like the inside of one of those telecom boxes where a whole bunch of telephone lines branch off to different rooms in a building.

  9. okay Cindy–this is no fun if you do not respond back

    • I am soooo sorry, but you need to pity me. I spent the whole morning not working on my own work, but correcting a royal *@#%up of a co-worker :(. I am so done and ready to go home!! You are doing great though with your responses LouAnn, and I really appreciate it :).

  10. dorannrule says:

    If I look at anyone else’s guesses I get totally confused. So going from scratch, this looks like the inner workings of a water heater. Uh, o.k. you’ve got me fooled. 🙂

  11. Phil Lanoue says:

    Woke up to -6C here this morning. I’m not built for that kind of cold here in SC USA.

  12. benzeknees says:

    Kelvin & I are stumped too! This is a really good one Cindy! Kelvin thinks it might be part of a cooling unit because he believes the blue/white things to be temperature probes. But I got nothing!

  13. grahamatlinc says:

    Those look like Insulation Displacement Connectors. I think you put your fingers in the holes to test if the circuit is live. I wonder if this has something to do with demolition. aaaaaaaargh 🙂

    • Well, that’s not very nice to suggest I do that. I might get a really bad owie :(.

      • grahamatlinc says:

        So sorry. I meant a person puts their fingers in the holes. I’m sure you’d never do anyhing so mundane. And, I’ve completely forgotten about being a druid. I’ve decided to be a pirate instead and take up parrot wrangling. ooo aaargh pieces of cake.

        On second thoughts it’s a holder for tiny shotguns used for vole hunting.

        Have a shock free weekend. 🙂 Graham

  14. The thing you hook up an ice machine with?

  15. First and foremost today, I must thank LouAnn from the bottom of my heart for filling in for me while I was experiencing the day from hell at work yesterday. She kept the fun going when I couldn’t :). Now for the answer. Although I’m not familiar with the technical terms, I believe two answers were pretty much bang on, and one was more general but correct too. Dan of Dan Traun Photography said it was a punch down block from tele/data wiring and Graham said it looked like insulation displacement connectors. HoaiPhai said it looked like the inside of a telecom box where phone wires lead out from. Well, at our new office there is an open outlet (without the facer plate on it) beside my desk for ethernet or phone line. It is the top part of that where the wires are connected. When I googled Dan’s and Graham’s guesses, I found that they sure know their terminology :), and HoaiPhai is correct too. Congrats to my very smart blog followers!!

  16. grahamatlinc says:

    The voles are relieved (yay) 🙂

  17. oh yeah–like I could have ever guessed!

Leave a Reply

