Mystery Photo #92

Usually on weekdays I head home after work, do the supper thing and any chores that can’t wait until the weekend, and then I relax for the rest of the evening.  Going to the movies is reserved as a weekend activity, but last night was different.  On Wednesday a movie based on one of my favourite teen book series by Cassandra Clare came out, The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, and I just couldn’t wait for the weekend to see it.

Here’s the synopsis from http://www.imdb.com:

“When her mother disappears, Clary Fray learns that she descends from a line of warriors who protect our world from demons. She joins forces with others like her and heads into a dangerous alternate New York called Downworld”.

I have been looking forward to this movie for months, so my friend, Marcy, and I took her daughter, Jessica, for a girls’ night out at the theatre last night.  We went book shopping first, enjoyed a fattening greasy supper, and then lined up for the movie.  Sometimes movies adapted from books just don’t cut it, but City of Bones did not disappoint.  It was amazing!!  In fact, I would go and see it again in a heartbeat, and now all I want to do is read the books again even though I have tons of unread books in my “to be read” pile already!!

Now that I have come down off of my movie rush, it’s time to get into mystery photo mode. This is another one of those weeks where while attempting to crop a photo to make it tricky, I ended up really liking the result.  So, what do you think it is?  Be careful, because one aspect of this photo might confuse you.  Think carefully :).  Ok, ready, set, go……

Mystery Photo #92

This entry was posted in Blogging, Mystery Photo, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Mystery Photo #92

  1. too tired to make a good guess–the steering wheel on your house?

  2. Hmmm, it’s a wheel of some sort but I suspect it’s there to open something as opposed to steering or rolling on, perhaps it’s to open a lock on a canal or something to do with a windmill/watermill

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Yay! So glad to hear Mortal Instruments was awesome!!! I must admit it looks pretty epic and magical from the trailer, but I won’t be going to see it because I haven’t read the book yet, I am soooooooo behind on the times. 😉 I have just started reading a non-fiction book called A Cat Named Bob, have you heard of it? It’s about a guy and a cat living on the streets of London busking, I think it’s going to be really cute. 🙂 I wanted something easy to pick up and put down while doing my challenge thingy.

    I have to say I am stumped, I do not like this at all, I have been stumped by your mystery photo one too many times recently, LOL!

  4. Hmmm…its the thing you hang your garden hose on.

  5. Map of Time says:

    A decorative Conestoga wagon wheel or ship’s helm. Can you imagine how fast the wagon or ship had to be moving for the wheel to end up on the wall like that?!

  6. benzeknees says:

    I believe this is a turn off valve (like for water or gas). This was a hard one Cindy!

  7. And we have a winner!!! My friend at Map of Time guessed a ship’s helm or ship’s wheel, and she is correct. Congrats :). The reason why I knew it would confuse all of you is because of the brick wall. A couple of weekends ago we went to Owen Sound, Ontario to see the Tall Ships, and this ship’s wheel was on display on the outside wall of the Marine and Rail Museum. Without the brick wall behind it, I’m sure you all would have guessed correctly :). Great guessing everyone!!

  8. well that is what I thought–but then I thought it was too obvious! I have seen a million ship’s wheels (my husband is a diver and loves this sort of crap) but never one mounted on brick–you are a tricky girl Ms. Loony

Leave a Reply

