Mystery Photo #74

It’s official, Mother Nature is bipolar, and as a result you almost didn’t get a mystery photo today :(.  Last night, just as we were starting to cook supper, a wicked thunderstorm hit and we lost our power.  It was over 20° Celsius yesterday but they are calling for 1° Celsius and snow on Saturday, so with that kind of drastic weather change coming I was kind of expecting some severe weather.  The sky turned black, the winds became fierce, and then the skies opened up.  The rain was so intense that we could hardly see the trees in the field behind our house.  Not surprisingly, the power went out very soon after the storm began, and the next thing we knew people on Facebook were reporting that a tornado had touched down about 10 minutes south of us.  We weren’t surprised!

Three hours later the power came back on, and I was finally able to work on the mystery photo.  So, since I persevered, you have to as well.  That means I want lots of really well thought out guesses.  No wimping out allowed :).  Ok, ready, set, go….

Mystery Photo #74

This entry was posted in Blogging, Mystery Photo, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Mystery Photo #74

  1. TBM says:

    Uh, where is Mr. Bunny? Jeff? LouAnn? Anyone? I see a screw, a rusty screw

  2. It’s the knob to turn on the water in the yard??

  3. I’m here I’m here, I’m guessing that it’s some sort of tap or faucet, possibly for a water main or gas bottle

  4. is this the turn on/off thingy for a water heater? and TBM I see the rusty screw too–but we have to look beyond that to the thing that the rusty screw is in–or maybe it is just a rusty screw and Ms. Loony is being kind to us–but we have not given her any chocolate, so I doubt that that is it.

  5. beckyday6 says:

    It looks like the end of an outside tap or something like that…

  6. David Hall says:

    Gotta go with the mainstream…..water tap. 🙂

  7. Glad to see so many people guessing today and having fun doing so. I’m sorry I have’t been commenting. I’m not ignoring you – it’s just insanely busy at work today and I haven’t had time to take a breath!! I can’t wait for home time and the weekend :). By the way, in case anyone is interested, they have confirmed that it was an F1 tornado with winds of 135-175 km/h that hit just south of where I live last night. It was crazy!!

  8. so was this a remnant from that tornado that flew into your yard. scary though isn’t it–it is crazy windy here today.

  9. Since you seem to be ignoring us because you are working too hard for that crazy boss, I say we all come to your place of employment, kidnap you, tie up your boss and tickle his/her feet, and go to your house and find the subject of the mystery photo. Then you can feed us all, give us some kind of chocolate dessert, mix up your crazy drink you had the other day, get you tipply and then convince you to only put up easy mystery photos.
    That, or have you show us your space ship that I know is parked out back of your house and have you take us all for a ride.

  10. benzeknees says:

    It’s the shut off knob for a water heater or furnace!

  11. dorannrule says:

    As usual, I don’t have a clue. But I’m happy your power is back on and you are warm and toasty again. 🙂

  12. Here I am :). Did you miss me that much LouAnn? You know, I was so mentally exhausted last night after the crazy day I had at work that I didn’t even look at my computer last night. That’s saying something, let me tell you because I’m usually on it 24/7! It looks like everyone pretty much figured out the mystery photo this week, and I am very proud of all of you :). It is the tap near my water heater that turns off the water to the outside of the house. Normally, we would have it turned back on by now and the hoses would be set up outside, but not this year yet!! Mother Nature is still a cranky bitch!! You should have heard the wind and snow hitting the back of our house in the middle of the night last night. It was so depressing, and now this morning it is all white outside again :(. Anyway, good job everyone and have an amazing weekend!! I am off shopping with my youngest son who needs a suit for a wedding. At 16 he still keeps growing out of everything LOL!

  13. I thought the roof was going to fall in on me last night as I tried to sleep in my bed–so many strange noises–the wind was crazy and we had a bit of snow this morning too — 77 degrees the other day, or if you are really Cdn I guess it was about 25 or so–(I am really Cdn but live on the U.S. border so get my temp two ways.) Have fun shopping – I am going out to get some groceries for my son to take back to London — just like your son at university–he has changed courses and now is really happy (I hope)–life is so up and down with kids!

    • Yes, wasn’t last Thursday an awesome summer?? LMAO! Shopping was a huge success today. Got my youngest a new suit for half price and then they boned us on the shirt and tie :). But then we went to Sears and got him dress shoes for $27 and a new belt (gotta love Sears Days!!). As far as my older son and school goes, cross your fingers that he gets into his new course because there’s a waiting list. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

