Awe-Inspiring Angel

Today we spent a fabulous day visiting the famous Angel Oak on Johns Island, South Carolina, not far from Charleston.  However, let me start out by saying that you should never believe what you read on the internet.  When we researched this southern attraction, every website said that it is 1500 years old, but when we arrived on site we found out that the Angel Oak is actually 300-400 years old.

The Angel Oak is a Live Oak, a native tree species found throughout the Lowcountry, and its massive, draping limbs and wide spreading canopy present the aura of an angel, but the naming was acquired from the tree’s previous owners, Justis and Martha Angel.  It has a height of 65 feet and a circumference of 25.5 feet.  It shades an area of 17,000 square feet, and the largest limb is 11.25 feet around and 89 feet long.

Standing beneath the Angel Oak is awe-inspiring to say the least, and I don’t think any photo can completely do it justice, but here are a few of the shots that I took today.  The last three photos show Mike, myself, and my parents under the tree, so you will be able to get a little bit of an idea of just how massive this tree is.

Angel Oak 1

Angel Oak 2

Angel Oak 3

Angel Oak 4

Angel Oak 5

This entry was posted in Blogging, Charleston, SC, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Famous Landmarks, Flowers, Trees & Grass, History, Holidays, Motivation/Inspiration, Nature, Photography, Vacations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Awe-Inspiring Angel

  1. dorannrule says:

    That is amazing! 🙂

  2. Oh wow!!! Unbelievably breathtaking!!!! 🙂 **

  3. Incredible! Terrific shots.

  4. krikitarts says:

    That really is a magnificent tree, Cindy–so good that you could visit it with Mike and your parents. What do all the signs on tripods say? Obviously, not “Do not approach or touch the tree”…

    • Yes, it has been wonderful to be able to share these experiences with my parents :). The signs are there to protect the future of the tree – they tell people not to climb on the roots of the tree or the branches and also not to carve on the tree. You are also not allowed to set up tripods to take photos, so I asked another visitor to take pictures of the four of us under the Angel Oak. They will be wonderful keepsakes! Because of the signs around the base of the tree and the many people wandering around, it was impossible to get the perfect photograph, so I also purchased (in the little old-fashioned cabin gift shop), a matted, professional photo that I intend to frame and hang at home. It’s just beautiful :).

  5. zannyro says:

    So incredible!!!! How awesome to see something like this in person!

    • Yes, exactly. Like I said, I don’t think any photo can do it justice because you don’t get the same feeling looking at a picture as you do when you stand under this massive canopy and look up :). It was so beautiful!!

      • zannyro says:

        You just feel like you NEED to touch it!!

      • I did! The individual pieces of bark were bigger than our hands :). Hey, since you are online, my hubby wants to know which state you live in. I couldn’t remember. We are actually stopping on the way home in Virginia to meet Dor, and it will be so nice to meet one of my blogging friends!

  6. bulldog says:

    Now that is one big oak… I wonder how long it will still be around after we are gone.??

    • It is huge!!!! The people on site say that it is 300-400 years old, and Mike saw a sign that says they can live to be 700 years old (I think). Apparently, they rot from the inside out. It was very fascinating to see that’s for sure :).

  7. beckyday6 says:

    Wowwwwwwwwww! IT’S LIKE LORD OF THE RINGS OR THE LAND OF THE FAIRIES. So cool. 😀

    • OMG Becky, you always think just like me!!!! As soon as I walked onto the property and had my first glance at the tree, all I could think of (and I kept saying it over and over to Mike) was how much it made me feel like I was in the middle of a Lord of the Rings book. It truly is a magical site, and you would just love it!! I would give anything to sit all by myself against its huge trunk, under the shade of its branches, reading a book for an afternoon. How much better could it get? 🙂

  8. wow- fantastic tree — when I get there will you take my picture under it too? I will bring chocolate

  9. I’ve seen this tree before but had no idea it was in SC OR that it had a name. Thanks for all the information, you’ve filled in a lot of blanks.

    • There are a few really old live oaks in this area. As they are a type of oak, I really expected it to be bare of leaves at this time of year, but they are almost like an evergreen because while the live oak does lose its leaves in the Spring, they are replaced so quickly by new leaves that the live oak is never really leafless.

  10. sayvan says:

    nice to see some leaves on trees…. almost forgot what that looks like

  11. dogear6 says:

    I’m glad you’re having fun! It’s giving me all kinds of ideas for when we go back.

    Nancy

  12. TBM says:

    Cool. I still think it’s 1500 years old though.

  13. Gorgeous tree, beautiful photos – as always! 🙂

Leave a Reply

