Still A Winter Wonderland

Snow, snow, snow – it never seems to stop lately.  Daniel had a snow day yesterday and again today, and I’m starting to think he is at home more than he is at school!  This morning we awoke to a winter wonderland, you know when the wet snow clings to everything and makes it look magical outside.  When it is freshly fallen, even I have to admit that it is gorgeous, but it doesn’t take long for it to become a dirty and slushy mess, so you have to enjoy the beauty while you can.

On my way to work, I kept thinking of how wonderful it would have been to have the day off to explore with my camera, but all I had time for was a few quick shots around town before starting work.  They are definitely not my best work because I was in a rush, but for all of my blogging friends who rarely or never see snow, I thought these might give you an idea of how much the snowbanks are starting to build up.

Wonderland 1

Wonderland 2

Wonderland 3

Wonderland 4

Wonderland 5

Wonderland 6

This entry was posted in Blogging, Country Living, Photography, Scenery, Shelburne, Ontario, Snow & Ice, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Still A Winter Wonderland

  1. They are lovely Cindy. The first two especially. While we here in the warmer south have had school cancellations for anticipated snow that never happens, I’m glad we are not dealing with this. People here would not fair well at all!

    • Thank you! Yes, we do tend to get hardened to it up here :). We are heading down to South Carolina next week, and although I hear it has been quite cold and rainy down there, I’m sure we will be walking around in t-shirts while the locals are wrapped up in winter coats because to us it will feel balmy LOL!!

  2. we got mostly rain and a little snow that mostly melted away–but it freezes at night and makes hazardous walking

  3. krikitarts says:

    It’s been a long time since we had that much snow here, where there is normally quite a bit. The last time I saw drifts like that was in Virginia after a freak storm several years ago. I do love a good snow, as you do too, obviously. No apologies necessary–we do what we can with the time we have!

    • I actually really hate winter, but it was particularly pretty this morning :). I would have loved to have stopped to take photos along the highway this morning, but I figured that wasn’t the safest place to stop after a snowstorm. I probably would have ended up in the ditch LOL!!

  4. dorannrule says:

    The top two are picture postcards that somehow make me think of “It’s a Wonderful Life.” And the drifts remind me to be grateful we are getting closer to spring! 🙂

    • Spring!!! Oh, how I love the sound of that word. Do you know what I’m sick of the most, besides being freezing cold all the time? I’m so sick of coats and boots! I just want to be able to slip on my shoes and run out in the sunshine :).

  5. You’ve summed it up quite nicely. It is beautiful when it first falls but enough already. Great shots.

  6. benzeknees says:

    Love the pics! So much different than it is here – it’s all dirty here. Also very warm (now I’ve gone & jinxed it).

  7. bulldog says:

    Cindy so many from that side of the equator are begging for spring to put in an appearance… when I look at these photos I can see why.. to me it looks beautiful, magical and photogenic.. but at the same time damn cold… so I appreciate you sharing these for us that don’t know it.. but please keep it there.. I’d die in that cold… lovely photos…

  8. TBM says:

    I love snow but always hated driving in the stuff. Be careful!

  9. Andy says:

    It was a real treat to wake up yesterday to see the beautiful side of Mother Naturals skills. She would be proud of your photos.

  10. Jeff Sinon says:

    “How wonderful it would be to have the day off to explore with my camera?” Who are you and what have you done with the winter / cold hating Cindy that normally writes this blog? 😛

    By the way, I SO feel your pain. Not only have we had a bunch of snow, with the beautifully covered trees to go with it that I’ve had to admire on my drive to work, but I also bought a new lens that I’ve not been able to use much because of the weather when the weekends roll around. That is killing me!

    • I am still a winter hater, but even I had to admit that it looked really pretty yesterday :). If I wasn’t such a chicken shit about going in the ditch, I would have stopped to take pictures on the way to work, but the shoulders of the highway were not looking too safe. Plus I didn’t want anyone else sliding into me LOL!

      Ok, do tell about the new lens. What did you get? I’m dying to hear!!

  11. Love the symmetry in the first shot!!!! We definitely (thankfully) do not have as much snow (touch wood)…. 🙂 **

    • Oh, don’t worry – your turn will come :)! I really love that first shot – too bad the power lines and stuff get in the way though. I would have to drive down a back road in the countryside yesterday to take some shots, but unfortunately that work thing got in the way :(.

  12. Sartenada says:

    Wonderful winter photos!

  13. Phil Lanoue says:

    Oh wow, winter scenes. We are complaining here because it is only going to be 50F today.

    • Yes, you need to work on that weather down there so that it’s nice when I get there :). I told my parents to get outside every day and do the sun dance, and my dad was doing the dance for me on Facetime (like Skype) last night. Maybe you could do it too and send me a video?? LOL!!

  14. sayvan says:

    These are great shots…. I have to admit that although we certainly hate the white stuff, it does on occasion paint a nice scene….

  15. ladyfi says:

    Oh, what beautiful wintry shots.

Leave a Reply

