Blinding whiteness

After our storm on Friday, you would think that everything would have been back to normal today, but freezing rain overnight made the back roads hazardous resulting in school bus cancellations.  So, my bratty kid got another day off school!  The highways, on the other hand, were fine so I had to go to work.  Yuck!!  Was I jealous?  Of course :).

Here are some more photos from Friday to show you the extent of the cold whiteness I am hiding inside from.

Snowstorm 9

My poor car 😦

Snowstorm 10

I put the coffee cup on the ground so you could get an idea
of how much snow was in our driveway.

Snowstorm 11

I love going outside first thing in the morning while the drifts are still perfect.

Snowstorm 12

I love this shot! These holes are actually the culverts
that go under our road for water drainage.

Snowstorm 13

This shot had to be taken through our patio door
because the door was frozen solid.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Country Living, Dundalk, Ontario, Nature, Photography, Snow & Ice, Storms, Weather, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Blinding whiteness

  1. dorannrule says:

    Whoa! Now that is a real snow! Looks like that soft vanilla ice cream I love so much. Beautiful but you can’t take on too much too fast. Yes, you should stay home when school’s out. Maybe you can set a precedent at work. 🙂 Beeeeutiful photos though and I’m glad everyone is o.k.
    As everybody says, “stay warm!” 🙂

    • I must admit it is beautiful when it is freshly fallen, and I love your vanilla ice cream simile :). I also love the new precedent you suggested, but I know for a fact that it wouldn’t go over very well. Oh well, it’s a nice thought! Thanks Dor :).

  2. Woah…. that is a lot of snow!!! How sad you still had to go to work!!! 😉 **

    • I know, and my son kept rubbing it in all day :). So, do you have much snow out there? I am dying to know if you have made a snowman or a snow angel yet? I know you have been busy getting settled, but I think you and your hubby should make a snowman and post a picture on your blog. What do you think?

  3. sayvan says:

    Hi Cindy,,, word of advice… you should edit your shot of the car and blur the plate number…. The banks on the side of my driveway are nearly 5ft high…. how I long for summer…

  4. brrrrr– my front yard is ice

  5. zannyro says:

    The drifts are BEAUTIFUL!! You had to go to work!!! I hope you packed plenty of chocolate for provisions..just in case!

  6. TBM says:

    Drive safe. I’m not a huge fan of rain after snow since I have a habit of falling down whenever ice is around. Be careful!

  7. beckyday6 says:

    Wowwww, love the coffee cup shot! And the one underneath. 🙂

    • Thanks Becky! It’s hard to get the proper perspective in photos of snow sometimes because everything is soooo bright and white, so I thought the coffee cup would help people to understand what it was really like. It’s also really hard to capture the drifts too, so I was excited about that shot too :).

  8. Phil Lanoue says:

    Amazing Cindy! I would be hiding from that cold whiteness too!

  9. Great shots, Cindy! The culvert shot is my favourite. The storm on Friday was quite beautiful if you didn’t have to be outside. I flew back to FL on Saturday evening so missed the freezing rain. Mother Nature knows how to mess up a perfect snowfall!

    • Yes, that’s the thing. The snow is absolutely gorgeous right after it has fallen, but we all know that it doesn’t take long for it to become dirty and slushy!. Thanks for the comment – the culvert shot is my favourite too :).

Leave a Reply

