Frozen Inspiration

Last night I sat in front of my computer trying to think of an idea for my blog, but I think the cold temperatures have frozen my brain cells.  I just haven’t been able to find inspiration anywhere.  Then I finally realized why!  If this is what you saw every time you looked out the window, would you be inspired?  I mean, first of all, you can hardly see anything to photograph with all the snow blowing around, and if you are an anti-winter person like me, you just don’t like being outside period!  The worst part was that it was blowy enough today to make driving anything but relaxing and yet not dangerous enough for me to get a day off.  Bummer!! I guess these are kind of cool shots though :).

Whiteout 1

Whiteout 2

Whiteout 3

Whiteout 4

Whiteout 5

Whiteout 6

This entry was posted in Atmosphere, Blogging, Country Living, Inspiration, Landscapes, Nature, Photography, Rural Photography, Snow & Ice, Storms, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Frozen Inspiration

  1. zannyro says:

    BRRRRRRR…….I can FEEL it right through the computer screen!!

  2. Those are cool shots and OMG has it been cold. I’m ready for spring.

  3. bulldog says:

    No NO No… get into bed and stay there…. or come and visit, I’ll take you to the Kalahari 40° C +… just so much warmer… I have to say great photos… but cold…

    • Trust me, I almost did go back to bed yesterday, but then my hubby phoned and said that the roads were passable enough for me to go to work. What an idiot! LOL :). I’ll be on the next plane – Kalahari sounds wonderful. The hotter the better I always say!

  4. benzeknees says:

    These look like farm pictures from the Manitoba prairie. Do you live on a farm? I hate driving in blowing snow because of the black ice – I hope you took it slow.

    • Yes, I’m sure you are just as familiar with driving in blowing snow as I am. It can be an absolute nightmare as the snow blows across the flat fields and over the highway and all of a sudden you are totally blind. The worst part is that you have to keep going because if you stop, even pulling over to the side of the road if you can find it, someone might plow into you. However, my worst driving fear is ice!! I have spun out a couple of times on black ice, one time spinning right in front of oncoming traffic (no accident thank goodness). I couldn’t stop shaking that time, and my hubby had to take over driving that night. No, I don’t live on a farm, but we are in a rural area. We live in a small town of around 2000 people and are surrounded by farm land. It’s the best of both worlds because the kids were able to walk or bike around town to see their friends when they were little, but our house backs onto field at the edge of town, so it is still like we are in the country.

  5. if this is the mystery photo – I guess snow covered fields and roads.
    and Zanny – the girl who is in Florida gets no chocolate

    • Oh silly LouAnn. Of course this is not the mystery photo – I am going to post it now :). You know I never post the mystery photo until Friday morning, and don’t be mean to my friend, Suzanne. She’s totally cool, and she thinks we should have a blogger’s convention on the beach in Florida. Don’t you think that’s an awesome idea??

  6. dorannrule says:

    Those are definitely “cool” shots! But your brain frozen? I seriously doubt it. I love the idea of the blogger’s convention in Florida though! We could call it “Thawing Out Inspiration.”

  7. beckyday6 says:

    These are really cool shots! I especially love the one with the signs, it somehow makes the shot look all that more desolate because they just standing there on their own. 😛

    • Thanks Becky. I made sure I drove down some sideroads to get these shots because it was too dangerous to stop on the side of the highway in whiteout conditions :). All I could think of was how nasty it would be to be stranded out there and have to walk in those conditions – Brrrrrr!!!

  8. sayvan says:

    way to make my day…..

  9. Jeff Sinon says:

    I don’t know Cindy, the second and last photos are a couple of pretty darn nice, inspiring, compositions. And for someone who doesn’t like the cold, you sure seem to be a good job of photographing it and bringing the chill into your photos.

  10. Well, as you know of course, when you love photography, you will venture out into pretty much any kind of weather to capture a great scene :). I have so many followers that live in warm climates and have maybe never seen snow, that I wanted to hopefully convey to them through my photos what the experience is like, especially when it is snowing and blowing like it was that day. It sure doesn’t mean I like it though, especially since I didn’t get any of those hand warmers yet, so I lost feeling in my fingers again LOL!!! I’m glad you could feel the chill through my photos because that means that I accomplished what I wanted to. Thanks so much for the wonderful comment Jeff. They are always greatly appreciated :).

  11. Greetings from Australia,
    I ove this beautiful series of photographs of the snow; we don’t get to see much snow where I come so its kind of special. Thank you kindly for sharing these photographs.
    God bless

  12. Thank you for such a lovely comment and welcome to my blog :). I’m glad you enjoyed my chilly photos. I have a friend who just moved back to Canada from Australia after many years. Her son was born and raised in Australia, so he is having a lot of fun experiencing our winter for the first time. He even went tobogganing and loved it!

  13. TBM says:

    When i lived in Colorado I preferred hiking in the winter. For me, I think these shots are lovely and I would want to get out and explore. But I do hate the wind. Hate it. Don’t like it one bit. Not sure why it has to exist.

    • I don’t think you would have wanted to hike that day :). It was so cold that just standing outside of the car for a couple of minutes to snap a handful of pictures made my fingers ache! Hiking on a sunny winter’s day can be fun, but I still prefer reading a book on the couch wrapped up in a fuzzy blanket :). I know, I’m a lazy bum LOL!

  14. I adore these winter scenes. They are shouting “PUT ON A HAT, BUNDLE UP, GET SOME COCOA”. They are really wonderful – all the more so because I am sitting in a nice warm room while I am viewing them!

Leave a Reply

