The things we do for an awesome photo

After donning a scarf, heavy coat, winter boots, and big thick mitts, I ventured out into the -20° Celsius temperatures this morning, hopped into my car and headed to work.  As I turned onto the highway, I was met with a glorious sight like I have never seen before.  The sun was trying to burn through the hazy sky, and like a halo around the sun a beautiful rainbow appeared spanning the highway like a tunnel.  My jaw dropped, and I slammed on the brakes, pulling over to the side of the road.

Now, heavy wool mitts and cameras don’t exactly mix, so I ditched the mitts and jumped out of the car.  I had a grin from ear to ear as I snapped photo after photo at various points along the highway.  When I finally called it quits, I could hardly feel my fingers, and when I got back into the car my fingers burned for the rest of the drive to work while they thawed out.  It was totally worth it though!!  Granted, a professional photographer probably would have captured this scene far better than me, and photos can never totally do justice to what the human eye sees, but I am still really excited about the shots I got today.

In fact, when I got home tonight I was so excited that I actually sent one of my photos in to Global TV in Toronto, Ontario and to http://www.theweathernetwork.com.  My photo was immediately approved on the weather network, and the weatherman on Global TV actually used my photo on the news tonight.  So, needless to say, even though I am not a professional, I am a little bit proud of myself tonight.  It’s really hard to choose, but here are some of my favourites.  I hope you enjoy them too :).

Rainbow 1

Rainbow 2

Rainbow 3

Rainbow 4

Rainbow 5

This entry was posted in Blogging, Dundalk, Ontario, Fog, Happiness, Inspiration, Landscapes, Photography, Rainbows, Rural Photography, Snow & Ice, Sunsets/Sunrises, Weather, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to The things we do for an awesome photo

  1. Jeff Sinon says:

    Nice sundog! http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sun_dog

    That first one in particular is amazing Cindy. Likin’ the cold a little better now aren’t you?
    😀

    • Wow, and here I thought it was just a rainbow! I had no idea what sun dogs were – thanks for the link. And ok, I guess the cold weather can be a tiny bit fun for photography :).

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        I’m pretty jealous of that first shot let me tell you! If you lived anywhere near the ocean, getting out for sunrise, and the “sea smoke” that forms over the water when the weather is insanely cold would have you hooked.

        Three words: Chemical Hand Warmers! Those little packets you open and they generate their own heat, LOVE THOSE THINGS!!! I put one in an inner pocket with my camera batteries, and one on the inner part of each wrist to warm the blood going into my hands. They allow me to wear thinner gloves to work the camera easier.

        One other trick I use to get more life out of my batteries is to keep them all in an inner pocket with one of the warmers. While I’m traveling-hiking-walking to my intended destination I don’t keep the battery in the camera. I only put it in when I’m all set up, ready to shoot. And if your battery goes “dead” while out in the cold, put it back in with the warmer. You’d be surprised with how much more life you get when the battery warms up.

      • You’re jealous of one of MY shots??? Wow, I think that’s one of the best compliments I have ever received because you’re one of the most amazing photographers I know!! As for the hand warmers, that’s a really great idea Jeff. I will definitely have to pick some of those up. Yesterday was so spur of the moment though that frankly I just wasn’t prepared. I was just thankful that I have been religious about taking my camera with me everywhere I go because I would have kicked myself if I had missed that opportunity! And it’s funny that you should suggest that about the batteries because I noticed last night that my battery had dropped a lot more than usual. Great ideas! Thanks again :).

  2. irene fleury says:

    did you by any chance send this into the global news?? the first shot was the same one they had on the weather news. they had a name for it, but i forgot what it was.

    • Yes I did Irene :). I didn’t actually see it, but my mom did and she said the guy really liked it! My friend, Jeff (above), says the little “suns” to each side of the sun are called sundogs. Is that what they called it on Global?

  3. bulldogsturf says:

    These are amazing captures… I would be so proud if someone used one of my photos… well done

    • Thanks Bulldog! I wondered if you would all think I was crazy getting excited about the weatherman using my photo, but it was pretty cool :).

      • bulldogsturf says:

        I would love it to happen to me… it just takes one shot like that sometimes for a person to take things to the next level… well done…

      • Thanks Bulldog. I always tend to doubt myself and my photographs, but when I posted the photo on the weather network’s website, I saw some other people had taken similar pictures on the same morning, and after looking at them I thought to myself, “hey, mine actually looks pretty darn good”. LOL!!

  4. Andy says:

    I have never seen the sun as spectacular as this. You are well on the way way to becoming a pro.

  5. omf god these are stunning Cindy, PS you can get photographers gloves that only expose the thumb and fore finger. just Google “photographers gloves” I couldn’t see any on the Canadian version of Amazon (eh Amazon doesn’t have something) but they can definitely be bought through amazon’s UK and US sights. I’m sure they’re available elsewhere in Canada though

    • Omfg!!! I knew I liked you for a reason Rob :). Now I can’t stop laughing!! I’m so glad you liked my photos, and it’s funny you should mention those gloves because I actually have a pair that I bought because I have an iPhone, but it was so cold that I took heavier mitts with me instead. You see, this was really spur of the moment, not a planned photo shoot, so I was just happy that I have adopted the practice of taking my camera with me everywhere. I would have been devastated if I had missed that opportunity!!

  6. TBM says:

    That’s pretty cool and now you are like famous, Cindy the Photographer. Now tell me the truth, did you find the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. If so, beers are on you when you visit!

  7. amazing pics and what an accomplishment to be on tv–very proud of you but not surprised — I love the first one in particular but they are all special. Which one was on tv?

  8. Wonderful photos and well done on getting one accepted on TV. the halo effect is amazing

  9. dorannrule says:

    No wonder they published your photo Cindy! You should enter that first shot in a contest or submit it to a magazine! Fantastic! Congratulations! You have transgressed the “amateur” phase and entered into “professional.” I sure know how to pick a winner! 🙂

    • Dor, you always know just how to make my day :). It was a great day yesterday after that experience. I don’t think the smile left my face for one moment all day. I mean, seeing it was incredible to begin with, but being able to capture it with my camera and have it not be a blurry mess was just amazing!! I’m so glad that you enjoyed them too my friend :).

  10. zannyro says:

    That is so stunning!! Congrats on being on the weather network!! That is SO cool 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  11. benzeknees says:

    These are really nice! And congrats on being featured on the Weather Network. Too bad you aren’t in YEG – it’s zero today!

  12. Phil Lanoue says:

    Fantastic scenics and congrats on your pic being used on the TV weather!
    I too braved -1C temps (super cold for us) last night and got my sunset shown on the TV news at 7 and 11pm.

  13. Wow – thats friggin’ amazing Cindy!!! What a special picture!! & many congrats with the network using it!! What a great feeling it must be!!! 🙂 **

  14. Beautiful images of the sun in -20° C haze Cindy. Since I photograph often in the Arctic,and Alaska, I know that capturing good photos in that situation is something that’s not easy even for pros. You did a fabulous job and also demonstrated your commitment to photography. Congratulations.

    • Wow Rick, thank you so much for this wonderful comment!! I am a novice when it comes to photography, but I am learning more and more every day, and I was very proud of and excited by my results on that frigid morning :). I have just checked out your blog, and after seeing your incredible work I am even more flattered by your comment. I am now following your blog because I want to read more of your fantastic tips. Thanks again Rick. You made my morning!

  15. These are wonderful! I’d never seen anything like this before. I think the second one’s my favorite, but they’re all fantastic!!

    • Thank you – I’m really glad you enjoyed them. I was certainly excited that morning and very, very glad that I had my camera with me because it’s not something I’ve ever seen in the wintertime before :).

  16. zelmare says:

    Oh. Wow. 🙂 How very awesome! Your pictures are so stunning, it’s easy to see why the network used it! Congrats! 🙂

    • Awww, thank you so much. It’s so exciting when an opportunity like that arises and you actually have your camera with you :). The worst part was having to wait all day before I could get back home and see whether or not they had turned out well. They looked great on the little screen of the camera, but that doesn’t always mean they will look good on the computer screen :).

  17. krikitarts says:

    Way behind the mark here, Cindy, so apologies–but that first shot belongs in a place of honor–home display, blog header, calendar, greeting card, whatever. Beautiful!

    • No apologies necessary Gary :). It’s very difficult to keep up with all the email notifications for all the blogs we follow isn’t it? I’m really glad you liked this shot because I value your opinion greatly, and I was really excited by that capture. Thanks my friend!!

Leave a Reply

