Shining Through

The Christmas season has begun, and we are off to my hubby’s work Christmas party tonight.  Our oldest son, Bryan, worked at Mike’s place over the summer, so he is home from college for the weekend and coming to the party with us, along with his girlfriend, Cayley.  I’m really looking forward to it because not only do we get a nice meal at a restaurant but we also get to spend time with Bryan and Cayley.

I have to start getting ready soon, but I thought I would throw in a quick post for today.  A few weekends ago we took a drive to Tralee where Mike’s sister works.  Tralee is an operating horse farm, has hosted international events in dressage, eventing, and carriage driving and also is home to a significant special events/wedding venue.  Set on 110 acres, Tralee has multiple dwelling units, offices, stables, indoor arena and beautiful grounds including multiple ponds.

We had a good laugh that day because they get a lot of ignorant people who disregard the “no trespassing signs” and traipse around the property taking pictures and even having picnics sometimes.  The other people who work there did not know that we were visiting that day, and when I set up my tripod and starting taking pictures, one of the ladies came stomping out ready to tear a strip off of me for trespassing.  Luckily Mike’s sister came to the rescue!!

I have many beautiful photos to share with you from that day, but I will start with one which resulted in an unplanned effect.  Rhonda took us on a drive around the property, showing us the trails they train the horses on, and when I saw the sun shining through the trees in this wooded area, I jumped out of the car to capture it.  I know that lens flare can often ruin a perfectly good photograph, but in this case I actually think it enhances the beauty and atmosphere of the scene.  What do you think?

Lens flare in the trees

This entry was posted in Atmosphere, Blogging, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Nature, Ontario, Photographic Challenges, Photography, Photography Experiments, Rural Photography, Scenery, Sunshine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Shining Through

  1. Jeff Sinon says:

    How right you are Cindy. Considering the season, and the multi-colored “lights” in the flare, this is perfect!

    • Thanks Jeff :). It was another one of those pleasant surprises when I reviewed my photos at home. There are others from the same day where the lens flare meant spots right in the middle of buildings and it wrecked the shots, but I really like this one!

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        Been there before. I did find a tutorial on how to remove it in Photoshop Elements. It wasn’t very hard to do either. I’ll be darned if I can find the link though. I only remember it was a woman teaching it.

      • I’ve tried to use the clone stamp before to remove the spots, but I find I’m not always successful. Sometimes it looks natural while other times it just looks horrible. Maybe there’s another technique for this that I don’t know about. If you ever find that tutorial again, I would love to see it :).

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Ohhh wow, that’s one awesome lense flair! And you know how I love my lense flair. 😛
    This one really puts me in the Christmas spirit. 🙂

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    Enjoy your party tonight and your weekend with family!

  4. dorannrule says:

    ‘Tis an elegant picture and although I never heard of lens flare, if that means the ghostly techni-colors emanating from the sun, they are beautiful and add a wonderful extra quality to the scene.
    Do you think I should be an art critic maybe? 🙂

    • Dor, art critic extraordinaire!! I love it :). Yes, the lens flare is the colourful spots, but I have never achieved different colours like that before. Usually, they are just white spots right in the middle of a great picture that ruin it. I really like the colours though :).

  5. bulldogsturf says:

    What a perfect photo…

  6. zelmare says:

    Very nice… 🙂

  7. sayvan says:

    They say that the lens flare and in particular the coloured globes are the spirits of family members gone on their way. It’s that other realm telling us that they are still with us. My wife often travelled with her dad and sometimes when we are travelling and I take a picture of her, one single coloured orb will often appear… its a bit strange but nice to know he is still weatching over his little girl or so we like to believe anyway. Thats a great shot, a perfect star in sky looking down on a soft snow sprinkled forest ground. If you look closely at the coloured globes they appear to be in a perfect line from the ground up as if they are all heading for the light…maybe you found yourself a portal to the other side….

    • Oh, I really love the idea that the coloured globes are spirits of family members. I find that very comforting :). As for my photo, since it was taken on a horse farm, maybe the coloured globes are some of the horses that have roamed through those woods over the years but have since passed away. I like that idea :).

  8. zannyro says:

    LOVE IT!! I can’t wait to see what else you have to share with us 🙂

  9. Say yes to lens flare! Thanks for the perfect example!

  10. TBM says:

    Lens flare…I’ve never used the technical term before, but I think I might start. Nice photo and I hope you enjoyed the dinner. did you have any chocolate?

  11. just beautiful — love the sun beams

Leave a Reply

