Can you hear it??

Can you hear it??  I can – and it’s complete and total silence!!  After another wonderful but busy weekend, I am enjoying a day totally to myself at home.  Yesterday was Remembrance Day in Canada, and because it fell on a Sunday and I work at a law office, I get today off because the Courts are closed.

It is not very often that I get such a peaceful day, so I am going to take advantage of it and read a book I have to review.  I have been trying to read it at night before going to bed, but I keep falling asleep on the couch after only reading a couple of pages.  It’s a really good book, but I guess I am just overtired.  A day to myself reading = pure happiness!!

So, before I get settled, I thought I would share some pictures of my “library” where I am going to curl up with my book shortly.  Usually my son is down there playing video games with gunfire erupting every two seconds, so I generally decide to read elsewhere.  Today it is my space :).

Close-ups of some of my bookshelves:

My comfy place:

Ebook reader and iPad for note taking all ready to go:

And last but not least, a mug of hot chocolate:

Ok, I think I’m all set.  Gotta go, my book is calling :).  Have a great day everyone!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Happiness, Hobbies, Photography, Reading, Relaxation, Remembrance Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Can you hear it??

  1. TBM says:

    Wait for me! And I’ll be quiet, I swear. Are all of your books first editions?

    • Interesting question! You know, that’s something I’ve never really thought about before. Many of my books were purchased the day they were released so I would assume they are what would be referred to as a first editions. However, when I bought my beautiful boxed version of Anne Frank’s Diary when I was in Amsterdam for instance, it was bought from the on site store in her house and is obviously a newer version compared to the old well-read paperback copy I had as a child. I guess that never really mattered to me. What I do really cherish though are the autographed books I have :). Definitely come on over – there is a comfy couch with your name on it beside my comfy chair 😃.

  2. Sounds like the perfect day.

  3. dorannrule says:

    Oh, I love your library so neat and organized! And that big comfortable chair and peace and quiet. – definitely “the life.”

    • Yes, my paperback books are in one section and my hard covers are in a separate section, and they are all in alphabetical order. Plus I have a separate area for all of the teen series that I read. Hmm, could this be one of the reasons why my kids say I have OCD?? LOL!! Too bad you don’t live closer – you could come and read in my library with me :).

      • Northern Narratives says:

        Wow, maybe you should be a librarian 🙂

      • I would love to work in a book store or a library, and maybe one day I will :). Unfortunately though, it’s not like it used to be years ago. You have to have a degree to be a librarian now, and I did my time at school – I’m not going back LOL!!

  4. beckyday6 says:

    Aggghhh THIS POST MAKES ME FEEL SO HAPPPY!! 😀 All the books! I can’t take it, they’re so preddyful!!! Your book collection is wonderful, and so many of them are beautiful hardbacks as well! It’s safe to say, I approve. 😉

    Happy reading. 🙂

    • Oh Becky, I wish you could see my lovely library in person, but I’m so glad you approve :). And I’m also glad that I made you so happy today!! I don’t know if I’ve ever told you about this before, but I have a really cool app on my iPhone that is a database of all my books. It’s great because if I’m in a book store and see an interesting book, I can pull up my database and make sure I don’t already have the book before I buy it. I’m sure you know what it’s like – you get so many books that it becomes hard to remember which ones you have and which ones you don’t :).

      • beckyday6 says:

        Haha ohh wow that’s pretty cool! 🙂 I know what you mean, in general I am actually very good at remembering the books that I’ve read, but when it comes to long series and which books I’ve read in it and own and which I don’t I do get very confused!
        Sounds like a useful little app. 🙂

  5. sayvan says:

    and a good day to stay inside today…

    • That’s for sure!! It poured rain here all day, and the wind was so strong that my house kept creaking and popping. I kept thinking there was someone coming in the front door. Hope you were able to stay dry today :).

  6. hope you had some happy reading

  7. bulldogsturf says:

    Hope you had a good one…

  8. benzeknees says:

    Your library & my library were almost identical before my hubby made me sell off some of paperbacks with the promise I could replace them with electronic versions. The only series I have you are missing is the Necroscope series by Brian Lumley. If you like horror, you might like it but it is horror & science fiction. Hope you enjoyed your day! I would like to do some book reviews too, but I can never seem to get into the swing of this. Any advice?

    • Oh, the horror of it – he made you sell books?!? I can’t part with any of my books because they are my most treasured possessions. That’s why I had to get my hubby to build me 40 feet of bookshelves in my basement. What you saw in these photos was only a small portion of my “library” :). I will definitely have to check out that series by Brian Lumley because I love horror! As for book reviewing, I do reviews for an online company at http://www.allbooksreviewint.com. I had to do a test review, and then when they liked that, I was in. It doesn’t pay much, but you do get to keep the books, and it has been good practice for my writing skills :). If you’re interested, you could send a message to Shirley Roe, who runs the company. She is an author herself.

      • benzeknees says:

        Thanks for the great tip about reviewing, I have sent them an email to see if they would accept me as a reviewer.
        I also use a Sony Reader. I chose this reader because it allows you to borrow books from the public library at no charge. Every once in a while I have trouble getting a book I like because it is only available on Amazon (for Kindle) & I have even gone so far as to contact the author & suggest they make the book available at the Reader Store as well.

      • I chose the Sony reader because it has the sd card slot which the Kindle does not have. I like the idea of having extra storage space if I need it. Hey, you live in Canada right? I’m not sure if you are interested or not, but because downloading is not illegal in Canada yet, there is a website where I get all of my books for free. It is http://www.tuebl.com, and you can either buy them from that site or download them for free, and they are already in epub format. I also never use my Sony software. I use a free program called Calibre which allows me to import ebooks in any format, and it will then convert them to epub and send them to my Sony reader. It’s a fabulous program! I have over 500 ebooks, and I haven’t paid for a single one. Don’t get me wrong though – I still buy books from the store too :).

      • benzeknees says:

        Thanks, I’ll have to look into those programs you mentioned.

  9. We have a lot of the same books! I have mostly been reading on the kindle since last Christmas though, since our kids bought us one for Christmas.

    • I have the Sony reader, and I love it :). It’s so convenient because I have it in my purse all the time in case I have a few spare minutes to read, and I found a great website to download books for free, so I have about 500 on my ebook reader! However, I still buy the books by my favourite authors and from my favourite series because there will never be anything as wonderful as the feel of a real book in your hands, and I love to display my collection on my bookshelves :).

      • Me too, but we are out of room on our bookshelves! I have to get my husband to have another one built! He is as much if not more of a bibliophile as I am! Whenever we go to the mall I can expect us to spend at least half our time in the bookstore. Going to yard sales and antique stores is fun too – we always find really cool old books there. I am cheap, but he has spent as much as $200 for one book! I do love my kindle. It goes with me when we are out collecting cars (another of his passions), or when I go to the doctor’s office – I am not a patient patient!

      • So, does this mean that your “to be read” pile is as ridiculous as mine is? I have fondly named it the Leaning Tower of Pisa. I know I have far too many books to read, but when I enter a book store all logic just flows out of my mind LOL!! I would give anything to work in a book store, but unfortunately there are none near me, and as the girl at the book store I do go to says, I would never have anything left on my pay check if I worked there LOL!!

  10. krikitarts says:

    Looks like a super-comfy place for a snuggly read. It’s so important to have one. And what a beautiful old chair!

  11. zelmare says:

    Oh Cindy, you lucky thing! I love those quiet times. I have to few of those at this point in my life, but I LOVE it when there is nobody else at home, and I can really choose to do whatever I want to do. And this picture you’re painting here is absolutely wonderful. I think next time I have a chance, I’m not even going to think of anything else but reading. I’m sure you had a great day! 🙂

    • Well, after all the excitement and emotional turmoil that you are going through and will be going through over the next little while, I think you will deserve a whole week of curling up with a good book where you can lose yourself in another world and forget about everything :).

Leave a Reply

