365!!!

When I started this blog, I never expected to enjoy it as much as I do, and I seriously thought that it would lose its appeal after a few months.  I also never officially joined a 365 day challenge, but it became a habit for me to post one or more photos every day with an accompanying write-up   Weeks passed and I found myself making more and more friends who have become a very important part of my life – you make me laugh, you help me to learn, and most of all you give me the confidence to continue on with my journey to become a better photographer.  I can’t imagine my life without all of you :).

Today is a very special day.  It is my 365th consecutive post!!  Somehow I managed to make it through an entire year without missing a day of blogging.  Go figure LOL.  I still don’t get as much time to devote to photography as I would like, but through the advice, praise, and encouragement that have flowed from your comments, I truly believe that my photos have improved over the last year.  I still have a long way to go and a great deal to learn, but my blogging family started me on my way.

For my 365th post, I thought I would show you the latest technique I have been experimenting with – HDR.  I finally figured out how to do bracketed exposures on my DSLR (which had been suggested to me by a few of my followers), and although I have only tried HDR processing a couple of times and don’t really know what I’m doing yet, I can definitely see the potential for some creative photography.  When I originally took this photo, the trees were fairly well exposed but the sky was blown out.  So, I went back the next day, took three different exposures, and then ran them through a trial version of Photomatix.  This is the version I like the best.  I know some may feel that it looks a little unrealistic or overly vivid, but to me it looks like a beautiful postcard.  I am looking forward to experimenting more with HDR, but I’m still deciding between Photomatix and HDR Efex Pro 2.

On a final note, now that I have fulfilled my goal of blogging every day for a year, I have decided to scale back a little bit.  Don’t worry, photosfromtheloonybin isn’t going anywhere, but I need to get back to my other hobbies as well.  My family tree research has suffered greatly, and I am looking forward to breaking down some brick walls and finding more of my ancestors.  So, I will now be posting two or three times a week instead of every day, and I hope you will all still continue to follow me on my journey :).

This entry was posted in Blogging, Fall Colours, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Friends, HDR, Photo Editing, Photographic Challenges, Photography, Rural Photography, Shelburne, Ontario and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to 365!!!

  1. Wow Cindy – super congrats!! 365 consecutively is A LOT!!!! Looking forward to what you show us in future!! (I totally get the slacking down a bit!!…. it feels as though if you don’t watch out, blogging will devour you!!!) … At least I’ve got a lot of wedding stuff/ Canada stuff/ Europe stuff to keep me busy with for at least a couple more months!!!…. Good luck with catching up on your hobbies!! 🙂 **

    • Thanks Xandre!! It was a lot doing 365 posts in a row, but I loved every minute of it :). I can’t wait to see your blog in the coming months because you are entering one of the most exciting times of your life :)!!

  2. Heather BFF says:

    Wow, Congratulations! That’s incredible! Great picture btw! ❤

  3. bulldogsturf says:

    365 posts wonderful… and wonderful to hear you’re not yet bored with it all and intend to continue… so great to hear…

    • No, I’m definitely not bored, that’s for sure. It’s just that I get so into the blogging that I don’t have time for anything else LOL. I think all bloggers find that at some point or another. Thanks Bulldog!

  4. Colline says:

    Congratulations on achieving your goal:)
    The photo is absolutely stunning – the colours have really been brought out.

    • Thank you Colline :). I was quite pleased with this photo for a first attempt at HDR because in the original photo, not only was the sky overexposed, but so were the cars and some parts of the houses. You’re right how this really brings the colours out.

  5. edithlevyphotography says:

    Congratulations on your 1st anniversary Cindy. It’s been a pleasure following you and I look forward to continuing to do so. Great job on this image. I use Photomatix and am usually pleased with the results.

    • Thanks Edith. I really appreciate that :). I was thinking about you yesterday because we went to Exposure photo and video show at the International Centre in Toronto. Do you ever go to that show? If you do, maybe we could meet up there at the Spring show.

  6. benzeknees says:

    Yeah, 365 posts! Congrats!! I will miss your daily posts, but glad you will still continue to blog. This latest photo is very vivid but I love the color of the tree!

  7. beckyday6 says:

    365th consecutive post!! Wowzas that’s amazing! I don’t think I could ever do that, congratulations. 🙂 The family tree search sounds great, I hope you find a lot of interesting stuff.

    It’s been a pleasure following your blog and what a funky picture!

  8. 1. Super congrats
    2. Love the photo — it is beautifully vivid
    3. I will still be here following you faithfully even if it is a little less – (I said I was not going to blog everyday and still find myself doing it)

  9. zelmare says:

    How wonderful! Congratulations!!!! I take my hat off to you, I won’t be able to be so consistent myself. And congrats too on trying out HDR. I’m still some way away from doing that (I don’t even know properly what it is!!!!) I Love the picture – well done!!!! 🙂

  10. TBM says:

    What a tree. I love the color. And congrats on 365 posts. Enjoy rediscovering your other hobbies. I know I’ll still follow your blog when you post.

  11. Jeff Sinon says:

    I have no idea how you did it. I was hoping to keep up with my blog on a weekly basis, and in the beginning that was hard. The WordPress Weekly photo challenge has helped with that. Even if I have nothing to say, I usually have a photo or two to show.

    I can’t tell you anything about Photomatix, but I can say I love HDR Efex Pro 2. Whether I’m looking to go for a natural look, or the full on “HDR Look,” I find it works great. Trying both is the way to go. The thing I like about the Nik’s HDR software is that it comes as part of the complete bundle of Lightroom plugins. If you do go with HDR Efex Pro 2, you can save 15% by using the code JSINON or clicking the banner on my blog. But to be honest, if you can wait, they almost always have a great “Black Friday” sale that is an even better deal. You’ll just have to wait for the Friday after our Thanksgiving.

    Lastly, I can say without a doubt, your photos have gotten better and better for as long as we’ve been following each other. Now that you won’t be blogging every day, you can shoot more and get even better! Learning is half the fun, and it never stops.

    • I have no idea how I did it either, but it sure has been fun :). I have tried both Photomatix and HDR Efex Pro 2 (briefly), and so far I like HDR Efex Pro 2 better as well. Thanks for the tip about Black Friday! I think I have spent enough this weekend, so I can easily wait until after your Thanksgiving :). I am doing a lot more experimenting now, and you are right that learning is half the fun. Plus, I think that constantly keeping our brain busy learning is what helps to keep us young!!

  12. dogear6 says:

    Congrats on blohgging for a full year! It’s not unusual to cut back after doing it for that long – it’s nice to have a life outside your blog 🙂

    Here are my thoughts from doing a daily photo challenge last year:
    http://livingtheseasons.com/2011/12/01/why-a-photo-challenge/

    FYI – my husband thinks the Photomatix HDR is easier to use and gives a better result.

    Nancy

    • dogear6 says:

      Blogging not blohgging. Where’s spell check when you need it? LOL!

      • Thank you and thanks for the advice :). I read your post about thoughts on doing a daily photo challenge, and I could really relate to it. My daily photo blog has definitely challenged me to learn more about my camera and photography in general. I’m going to keep on learning – I’m just going to slow down a little bit. By the way, I’m following you now :).

      • dogear6 says:

        Thank you!

  13. Tammy says:

    Congrats! Thank you for all the great pictures and the “blog” friendship. 🙂

  14. Congratulations on your 365 post, wow, that’s a lot of post !
    Your photo is wonderful, a gorgeous photo ! I really love HDR processing and I think you did a great job on this photo. I never tried HDR, but I’m sure I’ll try it someday, it’s too beautiful !

    • I’ve only started experimenting with HDR, but I really think it opens up the creative possibilities! Now I just need to find the time to learn more about it :). Thanks for the congrats – I never thought this blog would take off, but now I can’t imagine my life without it!!

Leave a Reply

