More Fall Splendour

Eugenia Falls near Flesherton, Ontario is a tall, but fairly narrow waterfall, as it does not usually discharge a large amount of water except in the Spring. The development of a nearby hydroelectric power plant diverts much water away from the falls, and I would imagine that the dry summer that we had this year has not helped with the flow of water either.  Eugenia Falls was ‘discovered’ by a Mr. Brownlee in 1852, and was the site of a short-lived gold rush until the ‘gold’ turned out to be pyrite (fool’s gold).  Surveyors named the falls after Empress Eugenia, who was a consort of Napolean III.

Even though there is not a huge rush of water over the falls, it is still an incredibly beautiful sight, and the Fall colours simply heightened the beauty.  I know these shots are all very similar, but I decided to post them all because I couldn’t choose a favourite :).

While the waterfall was beautiful, the view in the other direction was spectacular as well!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Eugenia, Ontario, Exploring, Fall Colours, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Nature, Photography, Rock Formations, Rural Photography, Water/Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to More Fall Splendour

  1. Jonesingafter40 says:

    These fall trees are making me yearn for a trip to the mountains. So beautiful.

  2. zannyro says:

    I just can’t get over how much beautiful color there is in one place 🙂

  3. Andy says:

    Nice job in capturing the colours of fall. I know the water falls well. I have never seen a heavy flow of water on the falls.

  4. Beautifully done Cindy. I’m hoping to take a drive up to Muskoka this weekend to catch some fall colours.

    • I’m already crossing my fingers on the weather for the weekend because I want to take my parents out for a drive to see the colours while they are visiting. It’s really really windy up here today though, and I am afraid that the trees are losing a lot of leaves :(.

  5. Colline says:

    They really are beautiful. I love the colours!

  6. Jeff Sinon says:

    Wow Cindy! All great shots, but you should have saved that first one for last, as it is, in my opinion, the best of them. I really like that you shot it in portrait orientation too. Most people don’t even think to shoot a landscape that way. Which is one of the reasons I do it so much 😉 And with a tall but narrow falls like this, portrait is definitely the way I’d have done it too.

    The first is definitely a wall hanger!

    • Jeff, you just totally made my day :). Thank you so much because as I have said before, your opinion means a great deal to me. I think I might just take your advice and frame this one!! Regarding shooting in portrait, I do that a lot too. I tend to try most shots in both portrait and landscape and then compare them afterwards to see which one makes the most of the scene. Thanks again Jeff :).

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        You are ever so welcome. I have noticed a great improvement in your photographs since we started following each other. I used to see quite a few good photographs, but now I’m seeing more and more great ones!

        One quote I’ve heard often, “when is the best time to shoot a portrait landscape, right after you shoot the horizontal,” or something to that effect anyway.

        I just like to be different. I’d say close to 50% of my landscapes are shot in portrait only. I specifically look for compositions that will look best that way. With a lot of the waterfalls I photograph, portrait is the only way to go.

  7. These are beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

