The Wild and Wayward Ent

I know my posts have been kind of sad and depressing the last couple of days, so I decided to post something fun today :).

Back in July I published a post entitled Shepherds of the Trees in which I posted a photo of a tree that reminded me of an Ent from Lord of the Rings, the tree creatures who protected the forests.  I could distinctly see eyes, a nose, and a mouth in the bark of the tree, and he looked old and wise.

Yesterday was a hard day for Mike and I (we are still adjusting), so we decided to get out of the house for a drive and do a little shopping.  Since it was Labour Day most stores were closed of course, but we took a beautiful drive up to Collingwood where the stores were open because it is a tourist area.  On the drive home I pulled the standard photographer’s way to almost cause an accident and yelled, “Stop the car!!!  I have to have a picture of that!”  This has to be one of the most unique mailbox holders I have ever seen, and right away I started to giggle because it reminded me of a wild and wayward Ent who was the crazy family rebel.  What do you think?

This entry was posted in Art, Blogging, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Creativity, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Humour, Nature, Photography, Rural Photography, Texture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Wild and Wayward Ent

  1. zelmare says:

    I LOVE IT!!!!!! It is just a fabulous piece of art. Hats off to the person who saw that man in the tree stump. 🙂

  2. Rick Diffley says:

    Now that is stopper! Thanks for sharing.

  3. your almost accident photo is a keeper

  4. dorannrule says:

    Lovely? Wrong word. Exciting? Maybe Funny? Definitely – Why don’t I see things like that when we go to the store?

  5. bulldogsturf says:

    What a wonderful piece of art.. that one could see that in a piece of wood amazes me… I want one…

  6. beckyday6 says:

    Hahaa ha ha ha! That is SO awesome! You’re right it totally looks like an Ent. I wanttttt oneee!!!! Heehee. 😀

  7. What a great find. I love old mailboxes and this is one of the most unique ones I’ve seen.

  8. sayvan says:

    I love when folks carve the trees on their property….

  9. benzeknees says:

    Not my cup of tea, but I would probably admire it for about 6 minutes & then move on.

  10. Jeff Sinon says:

    The malbox itself is pretty funky too 😀

  11. TBM says:

    I would put that in my yard, if I had one. heck, I might put it in my office if I wasn’t afraid my cat would climb all over it and my dog might lift his leg. He’s like that.

  12. Tammy says:

    that is cool… lol

  13. krikitarts says:

    I would send something just to know that it would arrive there. Did you note the address?

Leave a Reply

