The Day After

I cried a lot when it was time to say goodbye, but I survived!!  We moved Bryan into his residence at college, helped him unpack and set everything up, and stocked his room with groceries.  It really helped me to see him comfortable in his new home and surrounded by everything he needs, but I still balled like a baby when we left.  By the time we got home, I just felt completely drained.  It will take some time to get used to him not being around every day, but I am just so thankful for all of the technology which will allow us to stay in touch (when he wants to that is LOL).

I was so tired last night and I didn’t really feel like doing my blog for today at all, but then I thought of a photo that I took recently that just seemed appropriate in my situation this week.  Mike and I were driving down the highway one day when all of a sudden he hit the brakes and turned the car around.  In a field, right by the side of the road, a cow had just given birth, and I mean just!  The placenta was still hanging out of the mother and the calf was laying on the ground still wet from the birth.  As we watched he took his very first steps which I captured with  my camera.  I got out of the car to take more shots, but the mother started getting nervous because of our presence and ushered the baby calf away. It just goes to show you that all mothers by nature worry about their children and make it their goal to always protect them.  That’s why it’s so hard to let them go.

This entry was posted in Cars, Children, Dundalk, Ontario, Elora, Ontario, Landscapes, Leamington, Ontario, Love, Macro Photography, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Day After

  1. Michelle Buchanan says:

    awwwww what an amazing moment captured, and a great relivince to your weekend!! I remember moving to school and how my parents felt, and as a parent now, 😦 im not looking forward to that moment when they move out. Stay strong momma!

  2. bulldogsturf says:

    Love it… the photo I mean… not the sadness of parting… never fear Boys know where Mom is… specially when they need something…

    • Thanks Bulldog! I know he’s being independent because he doesn’t want to come home all the time or call every day, and that’s good, but I told him that we are always here if he needs anything or if he’s feeling overwhelmed and needs to talk. I’m waiting to see how he handles the laundry issue. He’s never done that before, and I’m waiting to hear the cry for help LOL. Glad you liked my cute cow picture :).

  3. don’t I know it – congrats for getting through the first night
    -the photo is a keeper- a great symbol

    • Thanks! I’m not doing too badly, although I do have my moments, but he sounds like he’s doing really well so far, and that helps. One of my biggest worries is that he’s not used to driving in a city, and his girlfriend is at Laurier University in Waterloo which is about a 20 minute drive through a totally unfamiliar territory for him. Today he drove over to her residence for the first time because she was moving in, and he used his trusty GPS and got there with no problems, so I let out a big sigh of relief after I knew he was back at his residence safely. I will feel a lot better after he has made that trip a few times and is more used to it.

      • the worries do not stop – just got a call from my son (a 1:30 a.m. call – hope you do not get any of these calls) and he is not happy about his courses and it is killing me that he is so unhappy right now –

      • Oh, how I feel for you!! All we want is for them to be safe and happy, and when they’re not it breaks your heart :(. I am having a hard time getting through today because this is Bryan’s first day of classes, and I am dying to know if he likes his courses! Do you think your son is just overwhelmed because it’s the beginning of the year? All courses look impossible during the first few days. Or, can he change any of them if he is truly unhappy?

  4. Tammy says:

    Hang in there! You are right, at least today’s technology you can force him to video conference with his momma each sunday. 😀 LOL

    • It was so funny tonight. We phoned him to wish him good luck tomorrow for his first day of classes, and he was like, “Mom you’re not going to text me when I’m in class are you?” I told him I’m not quite that desperate, but I would love to hear from him tomorrow night so he can let us know how it went. LOL!!!

      • Tammy says:

        I bet you wanted to text him during class tho… LOL

      • Yes, I really wanted to but I was patient. We talked to him tonight, and it sounds like his first day of classes went really well :). One professor kind of pissed him off because he seemed to be shocked at how little they knew, but that’s what he’s there for isn’t it? To learn!! LOL I told Bryan he was probably just trying to be harsh to weed out the not so serious students. They like to do that in the first few weeks. Overall, it sounds like it was a good day, so I can breathe a sigh of relief!

  5. sayvan says:

    What a great photo to segway into what your are currently experiencing…. as I said before…it shall get easier… One of our girls is just starting her 4th year at Queens and its really incredibly how fast the time flew past us….

    • Thanks! I know it will take time, but I will get used to it. It’s funny you should mention Queens because my parents live in Kingston, and they said that the area around Queens has been crazy busy the last few days with all the students moving in. That’s a great university!!

  6. dorannrule says:

    Oh Cindy, this is the perfect post with the perfect picture, and mothers all over the world will relate to it. I relate to it.

    • Thank you Dor :). That’s the great things about blogging – I knew that there would be many mothers out there who would know where I was coming from. I really love the support that has pouring in. It really helps!

  7. zannyro says:

    Love the wonderful image and I know how you felt when you left..but as others have said…they still know where Mom is..and will always be….glad you stopped for chocolate..:)

    • I thought you might like my cute little mommy and baby cow, and yes chocolate cures all :). I must say that Bryan has been really patient with me texting him and calling him a couple of times. I will back off, but he’s been really good knowing that the first couple of days are very hard for us, and we need to be assured that he has everything he needs and is happy. He says he is enjoying the peace and quiet. I guess the parties haven’t started yet LOL!!!

  8. benzeknees says:

    What a wonderful experience it must have been to see the cow & the newborn calf!

  9. TBM says:

    Oh goodness, that little one is so precious! I’m sorry Cindy. I know this isn’t easy for you. I hope it gets easier, but you might want to stock up on chocolate. I think that’s better than vodka, but I do enjoy a good vodka and tonic with a slice of lime.

  10. zelmare says:

    Life is tough sometimes, but I’m sure the fact that he is excited and happy about all the new things in his life, is some sort of consolation to you. I have a lot of sympathy (empathy?) for you, it is not easy. The upside is, it gets easier, but one always misses them, the intensity changes, thank goodness! I love the precious photograph – right up my alley! 🙂

    • I couldn’t wait for you to see this photo. I knew you would love it!!. As far as Bryan goes, when I think of you I feel kind of bad going on about him being away from home because he’s not really that far away. It’s going to be a lot harder for you I know, but I’m here to talk if you need to :).

  11. Emily Gooch says:

    She looks like a proud mama. Though as protective as she might be, she knows eventually her baby will grow up and leave her side… It will get easier Cindy. And as difficult as it may seem right now… your son will be just fine on his own because you did such an awesome job teaching him everything he needs to know and for the next chapter of your life… you just might even enjoy your freedom from parenting and start thinking about doing things for yourself. 🙂

    • You’re so right! Over the last few years I have really started noticing how much less the boys have needed me because they have been maturing and becoming more self sufficient, and I actually have time here and there to get at the hobbies that I love so much but have neglected for so long. Even this blog – I would never have had time to do this every day when my kids were little!! Thanks again for your support. It means so much to me :).

  12. beckyday6 says:

    Gulp……this is what I have to look forward to in a less than 2 weeks….only I’m the child. I’m terrfied! :S

    I hope your son gets on ok there, and that you don’t get too worried about him. 🙂 x

    • Oh Becky, you don’t need to be terrified! I just know you are going to be wonderful – the best student there :). Bryan seems to be doing very well so far, so I just keep my fingers crossed and try not to worry too much. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

