KISS!

I sit here in front of my laptop trying to figure out what to post on my blog today, and my brain just keeps spinning around in circles.  I look at some photos and get a bit of an idea, but I just can’t settle on anything because my mind won’t stay still thinking of all the things that still need to be done before my son leaves for college on Sunday.  Then the acronym KISS comes to mind – Keep It Simple Stupid!  So, here is a photo of the cloudy sky on a recent drive to work, representing the long road I have ahead of me to adjust to life without my son at home.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Clouds, Emotions, Family, Landscapes, Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to KISS!

  1. dorannrule says:

    Been there. Done that. The tears will come and then they will go, and it’s not over yet. If I were there I would hold your hand. It’s a happy time full of promise but a sad time full of loss. Love, Dor

  2. zannyro says:

    The road is long…but you have an advantage…you have a camera, and you know how to use it…..this was a blessing to me as it turned out. I didn’t discover the benefits of my trusty friend
    for quite awhile and didn’t “lean on it” for a few years….and then it helped me move on to the new reality of my life. It really, really helped me. When things feel sad, pick up your friend, the camera, and go adventuring…just like you did with this photo..a happier day could be just outside your door. You’ll find you become more “you” and that’s a GOOD thing 🙂

  3. bulldogsturf says:

    Yep as they fly the coop… I remember the day well when our last left the house for good… the wife and I sat and looked at each other and didn’t know what to say… empty nest syndrome… they call it.. I think Zannyro has the answer for you… grab the camera and run photo anything just to occupy the mind…

    • It’s funny what you said there about looking at each other and not knowing what to say because when the kids are young, all your conversations tend to revolve around them and the ways in which they affect your life (school, dentists appointments, etc.). I think our conversation subject matter is going to really start evolving into something totally different over the next little while :).

      • bulldogsturf says:

        It was for us a pathway to rediscovery… when we got to know each other again… as you say conversation at present revolves around the kids… when they’re gone one has forgotten how to talk to each other without interruption and only about yourselves…

  4. Barb says:

    Wow! I love this photo. It’s like the road to eternity. I’m still working with the empty nest thing.

    • Thanks! I live in a very beautiful area with many beautiful landscapes to photograph. Luckily I still have my younger son at home, so it won’t be a totally empty nest yet, but it will still take some getting used to. It really helps though to have the support of my fellow bloggers. Thank you :).

  5. sayvan says:

    you will survive trust me. we have 3 in University and well there is a nice calm around the house… when they all come home its fun but still we look forward to the calm…. ahhh…the calm….

    • Wowwwww!!!!! You just totally threw me for a loop. You have 3 in university?!? You and your wife look way too young to have 3 kids that age! I have already noticed in the last couple of years or so that the craziness has slowed down a bit because they don’t need me to do everything for them any more, and I am enjoying my new found freedom and the quietness. It’s so nice that Mike and I can just hop in the car and go out somewhere without hearing, “can we go home yet?” LOL. However, on the other hand I do really miss them needing me. Oh well, nobody said raising kids was easy on the heart, and I will adjust :). Thanks!!

  6. Marie-Charlotte says:

    a sooo beautiful sky !!

  7. Rick Diffley says:

    Good luck in your new adventure.

  8. krikitarts says:

    I don’t know if anyone else has noticed, but when I read your title and had my first glance at the photo, it looked like the two roundish clouds just above the horizon are actually kissing! Yes, it’s hard when they move on, but that’s what you’ve spent most of your time preparing them for–and the reunions become all the more special. And, yes, the camera in hand really does help.

    • Awww, kissing clouds – I like that!! As for preparing our kids, I think we’ve done a pretty good job with Bryan if I do say so myself because he seems totally ready to go. He is so excited about this new stage in his life and about living on his own. I sure wish I had had that much confidence at his age LOL! Thanks for the support Gary – it means a lot to me :).

  9. Pingback: Approaching storm | photos from the loonybin

  10. benzeknees says:

    As a fellow empty-nester, I can tell you it’s great! More privacy, less demands on you personally. You can do things by yourself you forgot you could do! It gets better every day. You’ll miss him like crazy for a few days & then you’ll adjust to your whole new adult life.

    • I know what you’re saying. Just the fact that our boys have been able to stay home by themselves for a few years now has given my hubby and I a lot of new found freedom. It’s great to be able to say, “we’re going out – see ya whenever!!”. I do miss Bryan terribly though :(, but that’s normal I know.

Leave a Reply

