Childhood Memories

When I was a kid, a trip to the CNE was never complete unless I could go home with a stuffed animal from the midway games.  The problem was that it was a lot harder to win at those games than it looked, especially if you were just a pipsqueak.  My parents always knew what to do though.  If the day was coming to a close and my tired little eyes were starting to tear up because I hadn’t won anything, there was always the fishing game. That was one of those games where you were guaranteed to win a prize each time, and as a result I always went home with a smile on my face and a stuffy in my arms, no matter how small.  It didn’t matter :).

As we walked through the midway this year I still found myself smiling as I passed the booths full of brightly coloured ducks, monkeys, and frogs.  Do these bring back similar memories for you?

This entry was posted in Amusement parks/Fairs, Blogging, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Family, Memories, Photography, Summer, Toronto, Ontario, Traditions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Childhood Memories

  1. Yep, I always used to play the water gun game to win a prize since I was the best at it. Such fun memories! 🙂

    • Oh yes, the water gun game :). The best is sending your kids up when they are the only players, so that you know one of them is guaranteed to win. As long as nobody else comes up, you just play again so that the other one can win too!! LOL

  2. I can relate. I felt the same way as a kid. Love the images.

  3. dorannrule says:

    Cindy – I WISH I was as observant as you are with these images from childhood at the fair! I remember the fishing game well and I’m smiling too. Thanks for sharing.

    • It always make me happy when I can make you smile :). It was nice for a change to be able to be observant of the things around me at the CNE instead of watching my kids like a hawk LOL. However, I did miss them. I seem to be consumed by memories lately because my oldest is going away to college this weekend, and I’m having a tough time with it :(.

  4. zelmare says:

    Very festive! But sadly, NO, these don’t really bring back memories. I did love the Big Dipper though… 🙂

    • Hmm, the Big Dipper. I don’t think I’ve heard of that one. I laugh when I look at these pictures and think back because we went to the CNE every year, so you can imagine how many stuffed animals I had as a child. The collection just kept growing year after year LOL.

  5. Northern Narratives says:

    I remember the fishing game but not sure what prizes we won.

  6. bulldogsturf says:

    Looking at the photos I want to be a kid again…

  7. they look so innocent in these pictures – but they are game-defying rascals

  8. Colline says:

    Love the frogs 🙂

    • For quite a few years, my youngest son was on a frog kick, and his bedroom was decorated top to bottom with frogs. So, at the CNE we looked for any game that had frogs for prizes, and that’s what we played!! 🙂

  9. Marie-Charlotte says:

    I love the different colors 🙂 I remember that I never won 😦

  10. sayvan says:

    Great shots again… I am really impressed with the sharpness in the colour… wonderful really… My favourite memory from the “Ex” was the demolition derby at the grandstand and who can forget all the great concerts we used to get during the “Ex”….

    • I had forgotten about the demolition derby!! They were a blast! Concerts in Toronto in general were so much afordable back when I was a kid. I can remember going down to Maple Leaf Gardens with a bunch of friends on a regular basis to see our favourite bands, and it didn’t make us broke for the rest of the year. Now, I just can’t justify the astronomical ticket prices! Thanks for the wonderful comment :).

  11. benzeknees says:

    This bring back fond memories for me of when I first started dating hubby because he was good at winning stuffies from the machines in restaurants & at one time I had almost 100 toys. We ended up giving them all to our daughters one trip to Wpg. But it was a nice courtship memory, thanks!

Leave a Reply

