Storm clouds over the lake

The day that we arrived at Wright Point Resort it was extremely hot and humid.  As is often the case in such weather conditions, the storm clouds started building late in the afternoon, and an intense thunderstorm was quick to follow.  Mike and I have always loved storm watching, so we stayed down at the dock fishing and snapping photos until I finally convinced him that the lightning was getting a little too close for comfort.  The sky was incredibly eerie and dramatic which made it a wonderful photo op!

Unfortunately, the storm did little to decrease the heat and humidity, so it was a long night spent tossing and turning, and the morning greeted us with a steady downpour of rain.  So, as I used to do as a child, I simply went swimming in the rain to cool off.  It was such a wonderful experience, floating in the water and turning my face up to the raindrops.  I was the only one swimming, and I’m sure people were watching me from the windows of their cottages thinking I was crazy, but it made me insanely happy.  That will be one of my many favourite memories from that weekend.

This entry was posted in Atmosphere, Blogging, Clouds, Hotels/Resorts, Memories, Nature, Photography, Port Loring, Ontario, Storms, Travel, Vacations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Storm clouds over the lake

  1. Wonderful shots Cindy. I don’t know (I’m following you) but I’m not getting your posts in my WordPress reader. 😦

    • Thanks Edith :). Sometimes I wonder what is going on with WordPress. I feel like I haven’t had near as many visitors lately, and now you tell me that I’m not showing up in your reader. Do you still get an email about my post each day?

  2. zelmare says:

    Breaking the rules again, Cindy? 😉 I absolutely love these pics with the big, fat, moody clouds! Gorgeous. 🙂

    • You know me – I’m a rebel!! LOL Mike and I love storms – we always sit outside and watch the clouds forming, and we get excited when the storm gets intense. I think we should have both been storm chasers :).

  3. storms – gotta love ’em–gotta stay away from the lightning
    swimming in the rain – sounds wonderful

  4. dorannrule says:

    The dog and I hit the closet in lightning storms. However, sans thunder, I think swimming in the rain is a grand idea. Your photos are eerily frightening though, so I can understand why cottage onlookers would be alarmed. 🙂

    • I swam the next morning when it was just rain – no thunder or lightning – so there was no danger :). When we spent our summers sailing when I was a child, we swam in the rain all the time. It’s so much fun :).

  5. zannyro says:

    What a sky! Such drama…..I could almost feel the raindrops on my face…sigh..

  6. ladyfi says:

    What wonderful drama in the sky.

  7. TBM says:

    Love, love, love that last picture!

Leave a Reply

