Hidden Rays

I know that one of the standard rules of photography is to never shoot into the sun, but sometimes I see scenes before me that make me want to break the rules.  I absolutely love when the sun is hidden behind the clouds but seems to be desperately trying to reveal itself by shooting rays out from behind the thinnest sections of cloud cover.

We were fishing on the point at Wright Point Resort one day (well Mikey was fishing and I was probably reading) when I turned around and was captivated by the beauty of this scene.  It’s hard to capture such a scene properly with a camera, but there is such a contrast between the bright rays in the upper half of the photo and the dark shadows and reflections in the lower half that it really appeals to me.  I love the atmosphere it creates. This would probably have been a great HDR scenerio, but I have not yet taken the plunge and purchased HDR software.  I just don’t seem to be able to find the time, but one day I do intend to give it a try.

So, what about all of my WordPress friends out there.  Do you like to break the rules?

This entry was posted in Atmosphere, Blogging, Clouds, Contrast, Hotels/Resorts, Landscapes, Nature, Photographic Challenges, Photography, Photography Techniques, Port Loring, Ontario, Reflections, Shadows, Water/Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Hidden Rays

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    Whats wrong with the photo..? It’s beautiful… are these rules not for old film type cameras..? I take lots of shots into the sun.. the results I find exquisite…

    • You are so good for my ego!! Thanks Bulldog :). I was kind of pleased with it, but I always thought the sun was supposed to be behind you if possible, even with digital cameras. But if it makes me happy, that’s all that should matter right? 🙂

  2. dorannrule says:

    Great picture. It makes me happy too. Happiness is wherever you find it… looking right at the sun does it for us. Let’s wallow in the joy. Best to wear sunglasses though. My opthamologist says they prevent cataracts! 🙂

    • LOL!!! That’s the problem with taking shots like this. I had spots in front of my eyes for a while afterwards. Good think I didn’t fall into the lake with my camera eh? I’m really glad it made you happy too :).

  3. Jeff Sinon says:

    I break the “rules” all the time. The so called rules of photography are a great starting point, but I think my photos would start to get pretty boring and repetitious if I were a slave to them.

  4. Many of my teachers of photography (as opposed to those who were merely instructors) told us that the best way to learn is to learn all the rules… then learn when to break them. You can’t break the rules well if you don’t know the rules.

  5. Tammy says:

    Rules? What are those?

  6. zelmare says:

    Love your picture! The reflection in the water is so gorgeous. Rules are made to be broken, or at least tested! And…how weird… I took photos this morning on the farm, specifically for my blog, and they are about…. the sun behind the clouds!!! So Sorry, Cindy, my blog is more or less about the same thing but let’s celebrate the fact that great minds think alike. And I’ve got no water in sight! 🙂

    • That’s hilarious because right after I had drafted this post I was going through my emails and checking other blogs, and I found someone else had done a similar photo with the sun’s rays peeking out from behind the clouds. It must be cloud week!! LOL. I’m glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the comment :).

  7. beckyday6 says:

    W-O-W 😀

    I don’t get the not shooting into the sun thing, I too have heard that but those are the ones that often make my favourite shots, one with lense flare and etc. 🙂

    • Thanks Becky!! I like those ones too. I think it’s just hard to get a good result because the sky is so bright and then the scenery or objects on the ground tend to be too dark. That’s why I would like to start playing around with HDR software. I just need to figure out some way to add more hours into my days because there just don’t seem to be enough hours to go around right now :).

      • beckyday6 says:

        Haha go for it!

        Ohh I know what you mean! I am so behind on blogging at the moment, finished several books that I still haven’t reviewed them. It’s annoying as well because I really love blogging! But sometimes life just has to come first. :/

      • Blogging really is time consuming isn’t it, but I love it too. I just need to balance it with my other hobbies :).

  8. zannyro says:

    As far as I’m concerned….I wonder who made “the rules”….whatever captures your creative sensibilities can be expressed in whatever way seems right to you! Great shot!

  9. krikitarts says:

    Letting direct sunlight fall on your camera’s sensor occasionally and for brief periods shouldn’t be much of a problem, and there are times when it’s the only thing that will do for what you want to say. I wouldn’t worry much at all if the sun is behind a cloud. Those tiny photoreceptive elements are not infallible, though, and I’d recommend drawing the line at longer focal-length (telephoto) shots with the unprotected sun shining in on a major portion of your image. Best to contact the manufacturer for a specific recommendation from a tech expert before making a regular habit of it, though, just to be sure. Like this photo!

Leave a Reply

