Long time no see

Do you ever find that you get so used to the trees and plants around you that when you go some place new you are fascinated by flora that you have never seen before or haven’t seen in a long time?  It’s like when we travel from Canada to Florida, we watch for the palm trees to start appearing because they are such a novelty to us.

On our street there is an abundance of maple trees, poplars, and evergreens, but that’s about it. So, when I started exploring on our mini vacation, I was delighted to see birch and oak trees.  It was really funny actually.  I was like a little kid, running around collecting the acorns that littered the ground because it has literally been years since I have seen an acorn.  I have always had a thing for birch trees too, and I find them interesting to photograph because of the way the bark sometimes peels and curls off the trunk.  There is such a variety of curves and textures.

I found this awesome birch tree at Wright Point Resort that looks like it starts out as one tree at the ground but actually splits off into six separate trees.  For some reason it really caught my eye, and every time I walked by it I felt the urge to snap some pictures.  What kinds of trees do you like to photograph?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Exploring, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Hotels/Resorts, Nature, Photography, Port Loring, Ontario, Scenery, Texture, Travel, Vacations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Long time no see

  1. krikitarts says:

    Birches are definitely among my favorites; we have lots of white birch around our cabin in Minnesota and three river birch in Omaha. Other favorites are sycamores and, in New Zealand macrocarpas , also known as Monterey Cypress or Cupressus macrocarpa (they are also found in California). Oh, and red maples, black oaks, and . . . and . . .

  2. anything knarled and gothic looking sucks me right in

  3. dorannrule says:

    Oh, I love trees and would photograph them all – and the bigger the better. These shots are wonderful and I love the peeling bark that is their trademark. I had a visitor once who thought they were “diseased” because the trunks were so white and mottled. 🙂

    • When you said “the bigger the better” you reminded me of my early teen years. I had a teacher who called me “Dougie” all the time because I was so tall and skinny, like a Douglas Fir Tree. I’m still tall but what happened to the skinny part? Oh ya, I had kids and got old!! LOL 🙂

  4. sayvan says:

    Love the first shot… nicely detailed

  5. Jeff Sinon says:

    Love birch trees! I’ve had a photo of them in my head for a few years now, that I have yet to realize. I just haven’t found the perfect group of them.

    That first photo is a real gem Cindy. Very well done!

    • Thanks Jeff. I really appreciate that :). The first photo is my favourite because of the detail and textures. I like the perspective of the last shot too because you really get the feeling of the height of the trees. I had a lot of fun that day for sure!

  6. TBM says:

    I love these types of trees. Cool photos Cindy. And, when I see Palm trees I think of home. I grew up in sunny California. It has been years since I was home, but I can still smell the sea air.

    • Thanks! Wow, California to England. Now there’s a climate change! I know you have lived other places as well – do you miss one place more than the others? I don’t know if I could have left sunny California :).

      • TBM says:

        I’ve lived in California, Colorado, Massachusetts, and now London. I miss all of them. If I went back to a place I think it would be Colorado. I spent more time there and I miss the blue sky and the mountains.

      • I can understand that – mountains are just so awe inspiring. We spent our honeymoon in Alberta, which was my first experience with real mountains, and I think I spent most of the time walking around with my jaw hitting the ground because it was so amazingly beautiful!

  7. 4Brats! says:

    You’ve got to go see the Redwoods in Yosmite. I started calling them the Oh my God trees. Because all I could do is stand at the bottom and stare up, with my mouth open. The last time I was up there I missed seeing them because of a snow strom. I had a daughter that lived there now she has moved. I am thankful I got to see them. They are worth the trip.

    • I read an article in National Geographic about the redwoods, and it was so interesting. I would love to see them, and I’m sure if I did my mouth would be hitting the ground too! Thanks for the idea :).

  8. Having grown up in New York but living in Texas for decades now, I miss birch trees, which my eyes kept singling out during my recent visit to the Northeast. Down here in Austin I’ve transferred my peeling-bark allegiance to the sycamore,

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/12/23/whose-woods-these-are-i-just-dont-know/

    which is mighty rather than slight, and which produces not the long and slender catkins of the birch but rough-surfaced seed balls that decompose into fluff:

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/sycamore-seed-ball/

    I suspect that wherever we are (except places like Antarctica), we can find a tree to be true to.

    • It’s so nice to know I’m not the only one who loves birch trees and their peeling bark. They actually do exist around here, but I don’t see them every day. Your sycamores are definitely a great substitute, and your photos clearly show how majestic they are.

Leave a Reply

