One of my favourite things

When I was a little girl, one of my favourite movies to watch with my family was The Sound of Music, and we watched it at least once a year, whenever it came on TV.  To this day, it is still one of my best-loved musicals, and I always remember the scene during the thunderstorm where the children are scared and Julie Andrews (aka Maria) sings them the song, My Favourite Things.  The lyrics to the song are a reference to things Maria loves, such as ‘raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens’.  If she can get the children to think of these things, they will forget their fear of the storm.

When I was looking at my photos from Southampton, Ontario, which was our last stop the day we went looking for lighthouses, I thought of something that I would definitely put on my list of favourite things, and that would be sunlight sparkling on water.  Being by the water in general makes me feel happy and peaceful, but when it’s a sunny day and the surface of the water just glistens, it amplifies those feelings tenfold.  Here are a few of my favourite sparkling water photos from that day.

This entry was posted in Atmosphere, Beaches, Blogging, Exploring, Lake Huron, Photography, Relaxation, Southampton, Ontario, Summer, Sunshine, Texture, Water/Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to One of my favourite things

  1. ooooh I’ll have to go along with you on that one, especially if it’s a little bit cold in the wind but the sun warms your back and you’ve got spray in your face

  2. I absolutely love The Sound of Music! And My Favorite Things is my favorite song from the musical too. I’m pretty sure I’ll definitely have that song stuck in my head all day today, which is definitely not a bad thing. 🙂

    • You know what’s really funny? We just had a thunderstorm here at work and the power went out, and I started laughing because it reminded me of my blog post!! I didn’t sing out loud though because I didn’t want to scare my co-workers LOL. 🙂 Anyway, I love thunderstorms!

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Ooooh very pretty, I love the middle one the most! 🙂
    I’ve always loved the sound of music too, and The Wizard of Oz. 😛

    • Thanks Becky! The Wizard of Oz was right up there for me too, except I was always really scared of the Wicked Witch of the West when I was little, and whenever she came on the screen I had to hide under a blanket. What’s really funny is that I ended up playing the Wicked Witch of the West in a school play/musical when I was a little older. Go figure eh? Now I feel like watching both of these movies!!

      • beckyday6 says:

        No problem Haha really? That’s kind of poetic! It was always Charlie and the Chocolate Factory that scared me when I was younger, I hid under the table when that girl ate the gum and turned puple and blew up like a balloon. Wasn’t too keen on the Umpa Lumpa things either! 😛
        So were you the play theatre type? Or was that one of those mandatory ones the school makes you do?

      • To this day I still can’t figure out how I got roped into playing that part or how they bribed me to do it because I was the most shy child on the face of the planet. I used to hide behind furniture when relatives came to visit, and I used to throw up if I had to do a presentation in front of my class. So, I can’t imagine that I would have volunteered for the role LOL. I wish I could remember how it all transpired. 🙂

      • beckyday6 says:

        Hahaha ohh gosh that sounds exactly like me when I was younger too lol. You poor thing, hope it didn’t traumatize you! I really wish schools wouldn’t force people to do stuff like that! Character building my ass.

  4. dorannrule says:

    Oooh, we are kindred spirits! I love sun sparkled water too and your pictures are taking me there. I think I’ll try singing “My Favorite Things” to Rozie, the dog, when she gets paranoid about thunder storms! 🙂

  5. pennycoho says:

    Sparkles on the water, yes. the song “My Favorite Things” also yes. beautiful photographs, lovely words. Thanks for putting a smile on my face. 🙂

  6. zelmare says:

    Oh yes, that is something special. And your photographs are beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

