Looking up

I have this thing for taking photos of buildings from the bottom looking up.  I just love the perspective because it always makes the structure look so imposing.  When we finished our tour of the lighthouse in Kincardine, Ontario, we went outside and walked down to the lower level, to the stairs leading up to the doorway where they used to carry in the heavy pails of kerosene to light the lamp in the lighthouse.  We wanted a shot of the date above the doorway (1880).  As I stood at the bottom of the stairs and looked up, I felt extremely small.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Exploring, Famous Landmarks, History, Kincardine, Ontario, Lake Huron, Lighthouses, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Looking up

  1. zelmare says:

    Love it! I also do that quite often. 🙂

  2. Jeff Sinon says:

    Excellent perspective Cindy! Great photo too. Getting better and better every time.

    • Thank you Jeff. I appreciate that! The lighting wasn’t the greatest – you know, when you have direct sunlight hitting a white object – but I was still pretty happy with it :). Hey, you missed the mystery photo by the way. It just wasn’t the same without you :(.

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        Doesn’t look too difficult to me. Considering the way you handled it like a pro. Detail in the shadows, great exposure on the white, and great blue sky, you’ve been hiding some talent from us haven’t you 😉

        Sorry about the mystery photo. My guess was to be some kind of wheel on a boat, but the damn day job got in the way of answering!

      • Don’t you hate those damn day jobs?!? LOL Thanks for the compliments. I still have a great deal to learn, but I think I am getting a little bit better every day :).

  3. Great minds must think alike. I took the same angle shots of the Portland lighthouse in Maine. I’ll have to post those soon but now I have to think of another title 🙂 terrific shots.

  4. I love pictures from that perspective. I agree on the dynamic it adds

  5. Very vivid colors Cindy.

Leave a Reply

