Beauty at the beach

Even though the purpose of our drive over to Lake Huron was to find lighthouses to photograph, I always have my eyes open for animals, birds, and insects, and Point Clark seemed to be a favourite place for butterflies.  As we walked along the beach, we were constantly surrounded by small swarms of yellow butterflies.  I’m not sure what kind they were, but they were very beautiful.  However, there was a decent breeze that day which made it difficult for the butterflies to stay still, so I had to be very patient, and it paid off.  I just love the colours and patterns on this one.

I also wanted to share this next photo, not because it shows the colours or markings of the butterfly, but because he appears to be looking at me.  Do you think he’s as curious about me as I am about him, or is he just wishing I would get lost? 🙂

This entry was posted in Blogging, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Exploring, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Insects, Arachnids, etc., Lake Huron, Nature, Patterns, Photography, Point Clark, Ontario and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Beauty at the beach

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    These are two terrific photos, I’m getting quite jealous at all these captures appearing on the blogs… why will mine not sit long enough to catch a shot????

  2. just another example of my geeky ability to hold useless information, if they rest with their wings open they are moths and wings up they are butterflies, not sure if your top photo was just on a downbeat or not though. Great pictures none the less.

    • My kids actually taught me that a few years ago! These were definitely butterflies because they had their wings up most of the time, but the wind was enough that they had to open and close their wings to stay steady I think, so timing was everything that day for sure :).

  3. a great study in butterflies – short and sweet

  4. zelmare says:

    How beautiful! I think he’s just watching you to see what you’re up to! 🙂

  5. dorannrule says:

    He probably feels a kinship with you – and maybe trust. Me, I’m just wondering if you are getting too good at this photography stuff. These two shots are superior in every way and belong in a publication. Really!

    • I say again Dor, you are sooooo good for my ego!! I think this gets the best comment of the year award :). Thank you from the bottom of my heart. But I’ll let you in on a little secret – I really don’t know what I’m doing. Tee Hee!!

  6. sayvan says:

    Nice and sharp… love the DoF on the second…. That camera seems to be working well for you

  7. TBM says:

    Isn’t nature amazing! Nice shots. I think the butterfly is checking you out and maybe he has a camera.

  8. Thanks TBM! I can picture it now – he whips out his teeny tiny camera and wonders if the big, giant human creature will stay still long enough for him to get a shot. LOL!!! Too funny :).

  9. How lucky are you!!! 😉 This is great!! 🙂 **

  10. Cathy G says:

    Lovely. I think it may be a tiger swallowtail!

    • Thank you so much! You are the first person to identify it for me. I looked it up, and I think you are absolutely correct :).

      • Cathy G says:

        I grew up with a great love of insects. My uncle gave me a book that identified a lot of butterflies. Funny how some things are not forgotten! How lucky for you to get a couple of great snapshots of one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

