A place to feel calm and peaceful

Sometimes I can be a very spur of the moment person and last night was one of those times, which is why I am only getting to my blog now at noon.  Usually I have it drafted the night before and all I have to do in the morning is hit “publish”, but when I got home from work yesterday, my youngest son, Daniel, and I decided to go and see The Dark Knight Rises at the theatre.  Because it was opening night, I basically had time to put away groceries, change, and then I was out the door again.

On the way to the theatre we stopped to pick up my new laptop cord and return the one that I had bought to get me by until the new one came in.  We had to be quick because we knew the lineup for the movie would be crazy, but being in a hurry is never a good thing because it tends to make people forget things.  I asked Daniel to hold the new cord while I was dealing with customer service, and then we rushed to McDonalds for a quick bite to eat before lining up for the movie.  The movie was fantastic (although I did find myself thinking about the poor victims from Colorado many times throughout the night), and we talked about it all the way home and then went straight to bed.  This morning I awoke with a start wondering what the heck we did with the new power cord.  It turns out that Daniel put it down somewhere in the store while we were waiting to do the return and forgot about it.  Ya, I know, what a couple of idiots!  Luckily, my hubby had to go to Orangeville today (40 minute drive one way) to pick some things up, and he had a good laugh with the salespeople at the store about how stupid his wife is :).

So, now that I have a laptop cord again, I can do my blog post for today.  I’m thinking something calming is in order.  The first place Mike and I stopped on our lighthouse tour on July 1st was a place called Point Clark, Ontario which is right on Lake Huron.   Our excitement turned to disappointment when we arrived only to find that the lighthouse was under renovation, and we couldn’t climb to the top like originally anticipated.  I will tell you about that tomorrow, but in the meantime we discovered that it was still a beautiful, peaceful place with many photo opportunities.  The sky was a perfect blue and the lake was many shades of blue, and we explored the quiet beach for quite a while.  How can you not feel calm looking at this?

This entry was posted in Beaches, Blogging, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Exploring, Lake Huron, Landscapes, Nature, Photography, Point Clark, Ontario, Rural Photography, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A place to feel calm and peaceful

  1. I needed some calm – thank you.

  2. izzy327 says:

    I left Onterio when I was seven, so there’s little I remember. But your pictures seem to bring back vague memories. I am sure I have been there. And I feel peacefull / happy about it. The other thing that will bring up memories is smell, too bad we can’t add that. Thank you I enjoy your blog. By the way I am Laughing at Everyday Life’s
    Mom and you always make me smile :-)))

    • Aww, thank you so much – what a beautiful comment!! I’m glad I can make you smile and that I brought back even the hint of memories for you :). Ontario is a very beautiful province. You should come back and visit us again some day. There is so much to see and do!

  3. Beautiful Cindy. I really need to explore this area more.

  4. bulldogsturf says:

    Lovely calming photos.. just what some need…

  5. zannyro says:

    Thanks! I needed that!!

  6. sayvan says:

    Great shots… We are very lucky in Ontario with Lake Huron, Lake Erie, Lake Ontario all within a few hours drive…. There truly is something about a peaceful calm by the water…

  7. dorannrule says:

    What a gorgeous spot. I like the shot with the flowers best and the stone steps one and the wide expanse shot and, and and,…….

  8. David Hall says:

    Excellent series of photos depicting the theme. Love how the first photo is divided into thirds horizontally.

Leave a Reply

