Emptiness after greatness

I am so depressed.  Well, not really – not in the real sense of the word.  If you are a lover of books, you will understand what I am feeling right now, and if not you will just think I’m a little crazy, and that’s ok too :).  I finished that amazing book that I blogged about the other day (Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness), and I am just utterly lost and empty now.  I wanted it to go on forever, and I really miss the characters already.  I was part of their world for a few days, and now I feel like I have lost a group of close friends.  In my books (pun intended LOL), that’s the sign of a gifted author.  Do you ever feel this way after turning the last page of a great book?

So, besides finding another great book to lose myself in and catching up on everything I neglected over the last week, I decided to post a few happy flower photos to cheer me up.  The first two are Hybrid Coneflower Echinacea from different angles, and the third one is Coral Reef Beebalm just as it is about to bloom.  I love the vivid colour of the Echinacea, and I love the mesmerizing patterns of the Beebalm.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Dundalk, Ontario, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Nature, Patterns, Photography, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Emptiness after greatness

  1. Ooooeee… the patterns are mesmerising indeed!! 🙂 **

  2. dorannrule says:

    Oh, I shall mourn with you for the loss of your book characters. I haven’t ordered the Harkness books yet, but must remember to order ’em. I am currently reading State of Wonder by Ann Patchett (for my book club). If I want to read before bedtime, then I’m “into it” and this is one I want to pick up right now. As always, your photos are fabulous Cindy! I see a book there too.

    • Aww Dor, thanks for sharing my grief :). State of Wonder sounds familiar to me – I’m wondering if I have it on my ebook reader but haven’t read it yet. I will have to check because when I looked it up just now, it looked really interesting!! And if you want to pick up your book right now, you should give in to the urge. There is nothing better than reading. I am sitting out on my deck right now, and all my chores for the day are done (well the ones that have to be done anyway), and I am going to read for a few hours. Yayyyyy me!!!

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Post book depression ha ha! 🙂 I know exactly how you feel, it’s always the sign of a great book or series. I got it with Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, The Sweep series, and some of Trudi Canavan’s books too. It’s that, I’ll-walk-around-in-a-daze-for-a-week-because-I-don’t-know-what-to-do-with-myself feeling when all you can think about is the book you’ve just finished reading! Haha.

    Beautiful pictures once again! 🙂

    • Oh Becky, I knew you would understand :). It’s just such a lost feeling isn’t it? I kept telling myself to slow down while I was reading it because I knew what I would be like afterwards, but I wanted so much to see what happened! At least I have the third and final book to look forward to, but I think I have to wait at least a year. I guess I’ll be ok though considering that I have about 30 books in my TBR pile plus around 400 books on my ebook reader that I haven’t read yet!! LOL

      • I had never heard of the Sweep series, so I just looked it up, and it looks awesome. I will have to see if I can get them for my ebook reader!! What are her other series like?

      • beckyday6 says:

        Haha well that sounds great, hopefully you will find some other series in that pile that you will like just as much. 🙂
        The Sweep series are the only ones I have read all of but they are one of my all time favourite series, I loved learning about Wicca as a religion and the supernatural twists she added, and I also fell in love with the characters. And hey, if it turns out you like them at least there are 15 books (athough each is quite small, but action packed) so you won’t feel that sinking feeling for quite a while!
        I read the first book out of the Balefire series called A Chalice of Wind but I didn’t really get on with that book, but I don’t think I was paying much attention when I read it so it could just of been because of that.

        Happy reading 🙂

      • Thanks Becky and same to you!! I am looking for the Sweep series right now on the internet :).

  4. Correction notice!!! I was outside watering my plants this morning, and I realized that the third photo above is also the Echinacea (just before it blooms), not the Beebalm. Oops!! 🙂

  5. bulldogsturf says:

    Lovely photos… I agree on the book I hate getting to the end of a good book… recently read a few books by a Tony Parks.. at the end of each book I went in search of another.. the biggest disappointment was when I’d found them all and finished all he has written…

  6. zannyro says:

    PRETTY, PRETTY, PRETTY, PRETTY,PRETTY,PRETTY……Now you’ve made me want to go back and read “Gone With The Wind” again….

  7. sayvan says:

    Nice shot again …… plus I love when someone rambles about something that really has little to do with what they just wrote…. so my wife would like to know is this part of a trilogy or something? She is a nut when it comes to reading!

    • sayvan says:

      I should proof read these things… I meant to say rambles on about something that really has nothing to do with the photo they are sharing! Sheesh!

      • Yes, it is a trilogy. The first was called A Discovery of Witches, and it’s an absolutely amazing series. She should definitely read it!! Was I rambling??? LMAO!!! By the way, tell your wife there is another book that is getting good reviews that is like Fifty Shades of Grey. It’s called Bared to You by Sylvia Day.

  8. pennycoho says:

    Great photo’s but I really get the feelings you were talking about re: the end of a great book, or series. I just hate that feeling.

  9. zelmare says:

    I’ve had that feeling, but not for a long, long time…I don’t read enough!! Stunning photographs, Cindy!!!! 🙂

    • Thank you Zelmare – I really appreciate that :). Reading is almost as important as breathing to me. I just find it’s such a great stress reliever, and now that it’s summer here, I sit outside reading whenever I have the chance, which means that a lot of other stuff doesn’t get done LOL. Oh well! Life is too short not to do what you love!

      • zelmare says:

        I do agree with you! I just find that I don’t have enough time lately. And when I do have time in the evenings, I’m so tired I fall asleep after a few lines… 😦

  10. The same thing happens to me, and it frustrates me so much! Everyone else has gone to bed, the house is nice and quiet, and I sit down excited to get into my book. Then a couple of pages later and I’m asleep on the couch LOL.

Leave a Reply

