My Cup Runneth Over

Only a week ago, I was complaining that I was having a hard time feeling inspired enough to create my daily blog, but now all of a sudden I have so many new photos that I don’t even know where to start.  I had an amazing weekend, and it seemed like new photo ops kept jumping out at me every time I turned around.  So, even though there are some photos that I am more excited about than others, I am going to keep it chronological so that I don’t forget any of my new treasures.

This particular photo doesn’t need much explanation.  I can often be found wandering around my small garden with my camera, but I’ve already shown you pictures of many of the blooms.  However, the other day I was sitting outside reading when I noticed there were tons of new buds on my geranium plants that sit in pretty metal planters on my deck, and I realized that the buds can be just as beautiful as flowers in full bloom.

What I love about this photo is that the focus is on two buds that look ready to pop open while the other smaller, closed up buds are out of focus.  This may sound silly but every picture tells a story, and to me this one is the bigger buds saying, “look at us, we’re almost there” while the smaller buds wait for their moment in the spotlight.  I also love how you can almost feel how fuzzy they are.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Composition, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Focus, Inspiration, Photography, Texture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Cup Runneth Over

  1. gret dof and colour, thank you for brightening my day.

  2. love when you centre in on something making it the most important thing – glorious

    • You know, I always used to think that everything had to be in focus for it to be a good photo, but I’m quickly realizing that’s not the case. You can really use depth of field and focus to make people look at an image in more than one way. Thanks for commenting :).

  3. Marianne says:

    I love the colour of these geraniums.

    It´s funny how it sometimes happens that photo opportunities are a bit like buses …. sometimes they come in threes (or more!).

  4. Great photo!!! Looking forward to seeing the rest!!! Love the vibrancy of the colour!! 🙂 **

  5. beckyday6 says:

    “This may sound silly but every picture tells a story, and to me this one is the bigger buds saying, “look at us, we’re almost there” while the smaller buds wait for their moment in the spotlight.” Haha I totally thought that too, us and our active imaginations! 😛

    Beautiful, beautiful photo. Keep up the great work!

  6. zelmare says:

    I am glad you got your mojo back! This is a very special photograph Cindy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

