Clogged pipes!

My Mom always asks me how I think of what to write in my blog and what photo to use.  The funny thing is, sometimes it just flows out of me like water from a tap, but occasionally the pipes are clogged.  Last night, when I was drafting this post, was one of those times.  No light bulb went on above my head, and my verbal diarrhea was at a minimum.  Plus I haven’t had any amazing photo ops the last couple of days.  So, what to do?  I have thousands and thousands of photos on my computer, but when you are not inspired even that doesn’t help.

In my mind, when all else fails I look to my wildlife photos.  Birds, animals, reptiles – it doesn’t matter because I love photographing them all.  Birds can be challenging to capture because they don’t sit still that long, but when you are on the beach at the ocean, it seems like the gulls and other sea birds love to stand and stare out at the water as much as we humans do.  So, I revisited my South Carolina photos and found this little guy.  He looks totally relaxed chillin’ by the ocean.  I wish I was there! 🙂

This entry was posted in Birds, Blogging, Isle of Palms, SC, Motivation/Inspiration, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Clogged pipes!

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    A truly lovely photo… maybe the block was required… I write articles as well as blog and there are so many times that the light just goes out, but boy I do enjoy the times it’s on, the words just seem to flow…

  2. zannyro says:

    Love this!! I know just what you mean…it’s hard to get past feeling uninspired.

  3. dorannrule says:

    Oh, I wish I was there too Cindy! And I face the clogged pipes almost every day. Then all of a sudden there’s something to write about and I think, “I will save this for the next dry spell and not post it for a week.” But then I can’t wait to hit that publish button and then there’s nothing again. I’m at the “nothing” stage again. Sigh.

  4. zelmare says:

    I’m right there at this moment. No, no ‘there’ staring at the sea, but ‘there’ where I’m not inspired to write a post. The bulk of my photographs are on my defunct laptop, and I’ve taken some more that I’ve stored on my SO’s laptop, but not one of those inspire me… 🙂

    • I know we all live in different parts of the world, but I can’t believe how many of us are in a funk right now. I know a lot of my problem has been that I have been too busy doing multiple book reviews for a company over the past few weeks along with my full-time job and family, so I haven’t had time to go out and take pictures. I think it’s time for a road trip with my camera somewhere, even if just for a day, to recharge my creative batteries :). Don’t worry, I know you will get inspired soon again too!

  5. TBM says:

    I could use a beach day…when I read your title I thought for sure you were having plumbing issues. Glad to know it was just a mental block and you can still use your toilet 🙂 That would be uncomfortable. Nice photo and I hope things start to slow down for you.

    • Oh thank goodness it wasn’t plumbing problems!! That would be yucky :). As far as things slowing down, school is done now for the boys, so the summer will definitely be a slower pace. I’m hoping to get out with my camera a lot and read tons of books!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

