Chores? What Chores?

No wonder I always have trouble getting all of my chores done.  Whenever I start doing something around the house, I inevitably notice something that would make a great photo op.  Take this past Monday for instance.  It had been a warm day, and my garden was in need of some attention.  I dead headed my flowers and then proceeded to give them a much needed shower with the hose.  As the water dripped down the petals and fell to the ground, little droplets were left behind on each of the flowers.  Bing, the light bulb lit up over my head and I thought what a nice photo that would make.  I remember a couple of years ago taking pictures of some lilies in my garden with the early morning dew still on them, and they turned out fantastic.

So, the hose and the rest of my garden was forgotten as I ran into the house to grab my trusty Rebel.  What followed was a half hour or more of me kneeling in my now muddy garden trying to capture the droplets before they dried up.  I have been really working on my composition when taking shots in the garden.  I always used to make sure that I got the entire blossom in the frame, but this time I experimented with close-ups and off centre shots.  My mentors out there (you know who you are :)) will also be glad to know that I bravely took my camera off “auto” and used my aperture priority mode for each of these shots.  One day when I can afford extender tubes they will be even better, but I was really, really pleased with these results.

P.S.  To all of the fathers out there, and especially my wonderful Daddy, Happy Father’s Day!!!  I hope all of you have a fantastic day :).

This entry was posted in Blogging, Camera Settings, Canon Rebel T3i, Composition, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Macro Photography, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Chores? What Chores?

  1. Dor says:

    Your pictures are worth a thousand chores! 🙂

  2. Jeff Sinon says:

    Making photos is a chore, but someone has to do it, right? 😉

    • Oh how I like the way you think :). I will sacrifice and be the one to do the photo chores. It will be tough, but I can do it!!!

      • Jeff Sinon says:

        I knew you were up to the task!

        Did you ever get my reply when you used the contact page on my blog?

      • I’m not 100% sure if I replied to your original email or not, but I did reply to your comment on my blog on June 13th as follows:

        “Yes Jeff, I did get your reply to my question about the extension tubes. It was very, very helpful, and I think I am going to wait a little bit until I can afford a decent set like the Kenko tubes. They sound awesome! I’m sorry because I really thought I had replied to you, but I must admit that I am really having trouble keeping up with my email lately LOL. I have a folder now where I keep all your helpful emails so I have them for reference, so thank you very much!!”

  3. beckyday6 says:

    My fave is the last one. Love the positioning! 🙂

  4. Rick Diffley says:

    Lovely captures. Good job!

  5. I love the shots!! Great macros!!! Daisies – so happy!!! My wedding flowers one day… 😉 **

  6. TBM says:

    Daisies are one of my favorite flowers…love the water drops. And if you need more inspiration, you can do my chores. Today is laundry and cleaning the kitchen.

  7. zelmare says:

    Gorgeous! Love the simplicity if a daisy. 🙂

  8. zelmare says:

    …of a daisy… :/

Leave a Reply

