Ripples and Reflections

I would have to say that the photos I use on this blog are fairly normal most of the time.  I don’t think that I have ever posted anything too unusual, and generally I can identify why I like a particular photo.  Today’s photo, however, is quite abstract, and I know it appeals to me, but I can’t exactly say why.

This was taken last weekend when my hubby and I were out for a drive with our cameras as the sun started to settle lower in the sky in the early evening, and the ripples on the water were created by fish, probably catching bugs at the surface in this open section free of the surrounding lily pads.  This, of course, meant that I only had so long to capture this scene because Mike was running for his fishing rod as soon as he saw the ripples :).

Maybe it was the last remnants of sunshine painting the surface of the water or the expanding ripples or even the reflection of the dead trees in the water, but this picture just makes me sigh in happiness and feel totally relaxed.    What do you feel when you look at this photo?  Does it make you feel calm and peaceful?

This entry was posted in Abstract, Atmosphere, Blogging, Colours, Curves, Lines & Shapes, Nature, Ontario, Photography, Reflections, Relaxation, Sunshine, Texture, Uncategorized, Water/Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Ripples and Reflections

  1. make me think I want to follow Mike with his fishign rod which I guess makes it peaceful to me, would have loved a silouette shot two minutes later of Mike standing in front of this backdrop.

  2. dorannrule says:

    I’m with you on this “feeling” your photo provides of a profound stillness that still harbors hidden life. This one screams for a frame. 🙂 Dor

  3. zelmare says:

    Beautiful picture. It is very calming – I love the colours. 🙂

  4. zannyro says:

    I like it and I LOVE it!

  5. zannyro says:

    It does mean REALLY good 🙂

  6. TBM says:

    When I first looked at the photo I felt a sense of peace. Water does that to me. Beautiful photo.

  7. Adam Allegro says:

    Love the abstract feel. Nice reflections!

  8. I’m really glad you liked it :). I think I could see myself doing more abstract shots like this. It was fun!

  9. This is lovely – “the last remnants of sunshine painting the surface of the water.” Yes, the photo made me feel calm, and it made me smile. The lily pads made me think that perhaps the ripple was caused by a frog. I’m here by way of Virginia Views, and happy to have been “introduced” to your blog.

    • Welcome and thank you for your lovely comments! I’m so glad I was able to make you smile :). There were definitely many lily pads and frogs there that day as well, and I must post one of my lily pad photos, but my hubby did catch and release a few small fish so he was happy!

  10. beckyday6 says:

    Ooooh I love this photo, very magical, it looks like the sword Excalibur should be appearing in the middle. 🙂

    • Oooooh, love the way your mind thinks. Now I feel like reading an Arthurian novel :), but I will have to wait because I am right in the middle of writing three book reviews right now that have deadlines. LOL

      • beckyday6 says:

        Haha me too! 🙂 Oooh cool, do you write book reviews professionally or do you have another blog that you do reviews on?

      • Actually, I write reviews for a company called Allbooks Review International, but between my job as a legal assistant, my family, my blog, and the book reviews, I’m finding myself spread a little thin lately, so I’m not sure how long I will keep doing the book reviews. It has been a great experience though, especially when I get positive feedback from the authors :).

Leave a Reply

