A New Friend

Recently I started following Suzanne’s blog at A Window into the Woods, and I have been greatly entertained by her tales of Baldy the Squirrell.  She is an incredibly funny blogger with an awesome imagination, and what makes her the most amazing is that she is a chocoholic just like me!!  So, I was very excited when, while taking photos of an old church in Windsor, Ontario, Mike and I had the privilege of meeting Baldy’s long lost cousin, Hairy. Get it?  Baldy/Hairy!!  Sorry, I couldn’t resist. 🙂

Hairy was a curious little fellow who seemed to enjoy the limelight, and Mike and I both hunched down, quietly snapping pictures as Hairy put on a show.  He was quite the little showman.  So, what do you think Suzanne?  Is this Baldy’s long lost cousin?  Whatever the case, he definitely was a cutie!!

This entry was posted in Animals, Blogging, Nature, Photography, Windsor, Ontario and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A New Friend

  1. zannyro says:

    OH MY GOSH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You did surprise me !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I DO think this is Baldy’s cousin…and possibly the better looking “branch” of the family…I love his name “Hairy”..
    The story continues and gets better and better!! If only Hairy lived close to you, we could have dueling squirrel stories 🙂 Thank you for the mention!! 🙂

    • OMG I was sooooo excited about you seeing this post. I knew you would like it, and I loved your “branch” reference. That was priceless! The dueling squirrel stories would be so much fun!! I will have to keep on the lookout for a squirrel around here who could play the part. Or, maybe the bunny that lives under the shed in our backyard?!?! I could dress up as a carrot and entice him towards the camera. LOL!!!! 🙂

      • zannyro says:

        As our fellow blgger Sonel would say…wahahahahahahahahhaahaha!!

        I’m loving the idea of you dressed as a carrot, enticing the bunny towards the camera….I will post an image of carrots for you as inspiration!! 🙂
        I LOVED YOUR POST!!! THANK YOU!!!

      • You are very welcome. That’s what friends are for. 🙂

  2. ladyfi says:

    Wow – what a gorgeous fellow! I don’t think I’ve seen a black squirrel before.

    • He is handsome isn’t he? And he was so cooperative! So, what colour of squirrels do you have where you live? We have lots of black ones here as well as grey ones. I love watching them scurry up and down trees – they are so fast and nimble. 🙂

  3. I love the second shot!!! His tail is perfect!!! 🙂 **

  4. krikitarts says:

    A fine fellow indeed–and that really is a most magnificent tail!

  5. Colline says:

    I look forward, with interest, in seeing what antics Baldy’s cousin will get up to ….. 😀

  6. I’ve never seen a black one! Today I had one posing for me, I’ll post pics soon.

  7. TBM says:

    I’m so jealous. Not only is he a good looking creature, but you were able to get photos of him. Every time I try to photograph squirrels they run away at the last second. So frustrating. Congrats!

  8. benzeknees says:

    He’s such a dark color, I don’t usually see them this dark. We had a squirrel who set up his/her home base in our garage before we moved & he/she could be seen running along the back of our fence all day. They are very territorial & make clicking noises when another squirrel wanders into their area. Hairy sure is cute!

    • It’s funny how animals vary from place to place. I was reading a blog the other day with a photo of a red-winged black bird, and it looked so different from the ones I see around here. Ours are very dark black and the feathers are smooth and sleek, while the one on the blog seemed lighter in colour and the feathers didn’t seem smooth at all. It was like a permanently ruffled look. That’s one of the reasons why I love photo blogging because you get to see how things look in the rest of the world. 🙂

  9. Tarissa says:

    What a fine specimen of squirrel! I’ve never seen such a dark squirrel either—I’m from Oklahoma, and those little creatures are more of a light brown color here. I have to admit that they are very cute… even when they’re stealing from the bird feeders!

Leave a Reply

