Around and around and around I go…..

Back in November I did a post about the caber toss competition at the Scottish Festival in Fergus, Ontario. Today felt like an action shot day, so I decided to revisit my festival photos. It was truly awe inspiring watching the athletes that day because of their brute strength and dedication, and I spent the entire heavy events competition experimenting with my telephoto lens as we sat way up at the top of the stands. I didn’t have a tripod with me, but I was able to steady my camera with my elbows in my lap, and I was actually pretty impressed with the results.

This particular shot was taken during the weight for distance event. This event entails hurling a 56 or 28 lb. weight as far as possible while maintaining control behind a trig. The athlete spins to gain momentum on the weight then releases it. The strength of these men was magnificent. I love the look of extreme effort on his face as well as the concentration on his fellow competitor’s face as he watches. It’s almost like he is willing him to fail! LOL

This entry was posted in Blogging, Fergus, Ontario, Photography, Scottish Festival, Sports, Strength and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Around and around and around I go…..

  1. Heather says:

    Cindy…..where`s the picture…..mine didn`t show up! LOL

  2. Damn! I’m trying to do it from the car and it’s not working. LOL. I’m working on it. 🙂

    • Heather says:

      LMAO….hey I clicked on the thing below and I am getting your replies back 🙂 Yep my real hair colour is blonde! Say HI to that sexy old man beside you there!! Have a great time! xo

  3. krikitarts says:

    Now, that looks like a really fun way to spend a hot afternoon in the sun!

    • All the competitors were red in the face and sweating because it was really, really hot that day!! Most of the spectators sat in the shade, but I soaked in the sun because I love the heat!! 🙂

  4. benzeknees says:

    The poor guy doing the hurling is so red in the face he looks like he’ll have a heart attack any second. Scottish background, so I am familiar with these feats of strength & they are actually something to witness.

    • My background is Scottish too but I have never been to Scotland, and this was my first Scottish festival. I thoroughly enjoyed it and hope to go again this year! My son is actually leaving in 8 days on a school trip to England and Scotland, and I am so jealous!! 🙂

  5. Colline says:

    This is such a great action shot. I can almost see the movement.

  6. David Hall says:

    Really well captured. Wouldn’t feel too safe sitting where the competitor is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

