What is that Mom?

One thing that I love about photography is that it allows me to create beautiful images of things that are dangerous to me, so that I can enjoy them without suffering.  Take horses for example.  I find horses so majestic and graceful, and I am very drawn to them.  Living in a rural area, we would be hard pressed to go for a drive and not see horses, and I think my husband gets tired of me making him stop the car for photo ops.

I would give anything to feel the freedom of racing across a field on the back of a horse.  Unfortunately, I am horribly allergic to horses, and hay for that matter.  In fact, I can’t go anywhere near a barn without paying for it for days afterwards.  It’s such a shame because my sister-in-law works on a horse farm, and I know she would take me riding any time I wanted.  Instead, I have to make memories through my photos, and nothing makes a better memory than when there is a baby horse involved.  I love watching them try and walk for the first time with their long, gangly legs.

I kept tabs on this mother and baby throughout the summer of 2007, but it was hard to get decent pictures because the mother was very protective and would lead the young horse away every time I got near.  She looks curious though doesn’t she?  I think she wanted to be friends. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Animals, Blogging, Family, Nature, Ontario, Photography, Rural Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What is that Mom?

  1. Soooo adorable!!! 🙂 **

  2. TBM says:

    Oh my…that is a gorgeous photo. And your husband stops for you to take photos…I like him more and more. Does he roll his eyes?

    • It depends. If we are just out for a weekend drive, then he will pull over without complaining, but if we are on our way to somewhere specific, he just wants to get to our destination without stopping. And yes, he does roll his eyes in that case!! 🙂 So, does this mean that your better half (don’t think you have ever said a name) won’t stop for photos??

      • Oh, and thank you for the compliment on the photo. 🙂

      • TBM says:

        Well we don’t have a car so that hasn’t been an issue. My better half is quite patient actually. I do get the occasional roll of the eyes or the quick glance down at the watch, but mostly my obsessive snapping of photos is tolerated without complaint. I think we both scored in the better half department and I feel lucky each day…well most days 🙂

      • Yes, me too – on the most days part and that I’m lucky! 🙂

  3. Colline says:

    The foal is too cute!

  4. zelmare says:

    How very sweet. Beautiful picture! 🙂

  5. Dor says:

    What a grand photograph! We had two and both lived into their 30’s! When I finally admitted I’m not a born rider, Lucy and Martini had the pasture to themselves and became exterior decor. I could watch them forever. Thanks for sharing.

  6. zannyro says:

    Love those long gangly legs!

Leave a Reply

