Anyone for a barrel ride??

My favourite thing about digital photography is the fact that you can take thousands of pictures and it doesn’t cost you a dime.  It’s not like film photography where I held back on the number of photos I took because I knew I was going to have to pay to develop them.  The only problem with digital photography is that I take so many photos that I can’t decide which ones to share with all of you on my blog.  This is especially true of my photos from Niagara Falls.

I’m also really late getting to my blog today because my hubby and I had a very busy day yesterday.  We made a spur of the moment major purchase (my new baby), but that’s all I’m going to tell you for now.  I will do a post about it later this week.  Let’s just say, I am really, really excited!!

I finally picked out five pictures of the Horseshoe Falls to share with you today.  Here are some interesting facts about these falls which are also known as the Canadian Falls:

  • The Canadian Horseshoe Falls is approximately 52 metres (170 ft) high.
  • The Crestline is estimated to be 675 metres (2200ft) wide.
  • The depth of the river at the base of the falls is actually higher than the falls itself. The river’s depth is estimated at 56 metres (184 ft).
  • The flow of water over the Crestline of the falls is estimated at more than 168,000 cubic metres.
  • The Canadian Falls was first described as “horseshoe” shaped in 1721.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Famous Landmarks, Nature, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Photography, Travel, Vacations, Water/Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Anyone for a barrel ride??

  1. krikitarts says:

    Great stuff, Cindy! I, too, prefer the views from the Canadian side. A new baby? Ohboyohboy!

  2. ZielonaMila says:

    Fantastic views, nature is a wonderful painter. I am greeting

  3. zelmare says:

    How majestic! Love your photos.

  4. Colline says:

    Absolutely stunning!

  5. TBM says:

    Great series! Love the bird. I’m excited to hear about the new baby.

  6. zannyro says:

    Love them! Especially the last one and the second one! OOOOHHHHHH,,,,a baby with wheels…now that’s my kind of baby!! 🙂 Yahoo for you!

  7. Jeff Sinon says:

    You really captured the power of the water in these. Great series.

Leave a Reply

