A Room With A View

Because our trip to Niagara Falls was to celebrate my hubby’s 50th birthday, which is a pretty big milestone, we decided to make it count.  So, as I mentioned before, we booked a really swanky hotel room at the Embassy Suites which overlooked the falls.  As soon as we walked through the door to our room, I ran to the window to see if the view was as amazing as advertised.  It was, but unfortunately the windows were filthy.

As photographers (amateur or professional), we will go to any length to get the shot we want, so the dirty windows weren’t going to stand in my way.  Even though there was no balcony, I did notice that one window at the bottom could open outwards a couple of inches to let in fresh air.  So, I popped off the screen, opened the window, and dropped to the floor. What resulted was nothing short of acrobatics trying to find a position where I could point my lens out the narrow opening and capture most of the view.  This was the result, and I must say I have never had a hotel room with quite as beautiful a view as this.

 

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Famous Landmarks, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Photography, Travel, Vacations, Water/Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Room With A View

  1. zannyro says:

    What a great view!! Happy belated to “hubby”!

  2. ladyfi says:

    Wow – what a glorious view! Definitely worth the aerobics!

  3. zelmare says:

    Oh wow! How wonderful! Does it make a lot of noise? (The waterfall, I mean…) 🙂

    • Beautiful isn’t it? When you go down to the observations areas, you are very, very close to the falls, and you can definitely hear the rush of the water. Depending on the way the wind is blowing, the mist from the falls can be very heavy too, and they actually sell rain ponchos so you don’t get soaked. We were very luck in that the wind was blowing away from us, so I was able to take pictures without ruining my camera (although I kept having to dry off the lens). You will see them in the next few days.

  4. TBM says:

    Nice view! I’m impressed that you could get the window open.

    • Like I said, it only opened a tiny bit, but it was enough to point my camera lens through. Wait a minute – are you implying that I would be too weak to get the window open or are you just surprised that they have windows that open that high up??? LOL

  5. Awesome! I found you through Dor. 🙂 BTW I ruined my first ever digital camera on the Maid of the Mist cruise. What idiot thought you could take pictures in a shower, I don’t know. Oh, that was me!

    • Thanks for visiting!! Dor is a sweetheart isn’t she? I can believe it about you ruining your camera because the mist is incredibly heavy there. I lucked out because the wind was blowing away from the observation area, so I was able to take a lot of pictures. It was still a little misty, so I did have to keep wiping off my lens, but usually people are out there in rain ponchos. Stay tuned for the best part – a full rainbow over the falls!! 🙂

  6. Colline says:

    Stunning views. Have never seen the falls from this angle. Thanks for sharing.

  7. munchow says:

    That is really a room with a view. Amazing. And stunning photographs. I have always wanted to see Niagara Falls, but so far haven’t made it, even though I lived for a year in New York. You must enjoy being in this fabulous place! I look forward seeing more from you. (And happy anniversary to your hubby).

    • Thank you Otto. As I think I have mentioned before, it means a great deal to me to have such wonderful comments from a talented photographer like you. I hope you get to see Niagara Falls one day, but for now I will keep on posting more of my photos for you to enjoy. I think you will really enjoy what is coming up – full rainbow over the falls!! And I will pass on your wishes to my hubby. Thanks again. 🙂

  8. Jeff Sinon says:

    Great view! I really like the composition of #2, gives a much better idea of what the “Horseshoe Falls” looks like.

  9. Great view! Nice shots–acrobatic feats notwithstanding!

  10. krikitarts says:

    OK, Cindy, I guess it’s up to me to change the mood of the responses–yes, you did a fine job of rising above the challenges of the situation and getting a couple of good images of the view, as I would have, but…I find myself compelled to ask, since I’ve been in many a similar situation with good lodging and poor maintenance–did you at least let the management know that you were sorely disappointed in the condition of the windows through which you were expecting to view the purported spectacular view for which (I assume) you paid a premium price? This is your right and your obligation. You should have complained, vehemently and eloquently. If they were unable to rectify the filthy windows within a reasonable time, they should have offered you a complimentary meal, dessert, bottle of wine, or at the very least a reduction in your bill. If not, you should let them know that you have lots of e-mail contacts (which you can prove with a few keystrokes) and that you can very easily spread the word about your disappointment with the quality of the experience that you were led to expect. And, if they’re worth their salt, they would have gone out of their way to make sure that if/when you make a return visit, they’ll make it up to you! (You can still do this, and I really recommend that you at least share your concern with them. I’m really not normally a radical activist, but in such a situation, someone needs a prod so that expected quality is restored.)

    • You know, I thought about saying something, but realistically I don’t think all of the windows in that huge of a hotel can be clean all of the time. It was fine to see the view from but not the best for taking pictures that’s all. We had excellent service all around though, so I just left it alone. The jacuzzi tub made up for any shortfallings! 🙂

  11. krikitarts says:

    OK, the prosecution rests, for the time being…

  12. Wow!!! What an absolutely stunning view!!! Great choice!!! 🙂 **

Leave a Reply

