Combining Elements

As I mentioned the other day, we all have certain things that we are drawn to when we are out exploring with our cameras. I, for instance, love to photograph flowers and trees like this beautiful flowering cherry tree (I think that’s what it is anyway) that we saw in South Carolina. I love the variations in the colours, and it was such a welcome site for me after having travelled from a snowy climate only days before.

Flowering tree 1

Although I know nothing about architecture, I am also drawn to beautiful and unusual buildings. It doesn’t matter what style – they just have to appeal to my senses. I took many pictures of this church in downtown Charleston, South Carolina because I loved the stark whiteness of it against the brilliant blue sky and the many beautiful details on the spire.

Church in Charleston

Now, something people may not consider doing is capturing a scene that combines elements they love to photograph. In my mind, this is a win win situation, and you can end up with something truly special. That’s how I felt when I reviewed my photos from that day and found that I had captured the majestic old church alongside the beauty of the cherry tree in full bloom.

Flowering tree 2

This entry was posted in Architecture, Blogging, Charleston, SC, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Combining Elements

  1. krikitarts says:

    Oh, yeah! Third time’s the charm, and the tips of the fence spikes give it an extra zip of interest that counterbalances the stark, white spire.

  2. tadams4u says:

    all three look awesome, but love the combined the best

  3. Stunningly vibrant colours!!! I understand why you were drawn to it!!! 🙂 **

  4. TBM says:

    Great photos…we love to take photos of the same things. That sky is so blue!

Leave a Reply

