Tracks in the snow

We usually associate certain textures with particular things.  For instance, we think of a man’s unshaven face as rough and prickly, while silk is generally soft and smooth.  That’s not always the case though.  Some things can have different textures depending on what form they are in.  Take snow, for instance.  It can be light and fluffy and feel soft, or hard and crunchy and feel rough.  It just depends on the temperature and the weather conditions.  A light and fluffy snow falls on your face and almost tickles your skin before it melts, but sometimes a gritty almost granular snow falls as it begins the cycle of melting and refreezing that actually stings your face when it hits.  The most interesting texture in my mind comes from hoar frost which is faceted, corn-flake shaped snow crystals that forms on the surface of the snow pack on cold, clear, calm nights.

Last weekend, we had quite a good snowfall, and when we dropped off my son’s girlfriend at her home out in the country, our car made fresh tracks in her driveway as it hadn’t been plowed yet.  While sitting in the car with my husband waiting for Bryan to say goodbye to his girlfriend at her front door (smooch, smooch LOL), I glanced around at the beauty of the fresh, white snow blanketing their barn and property, and I jumped out of the car with my camera.  Of course, nobody into photography would find this strange, but everyone inside Cayley’s house was wondering what the heck I was doing running around out in the cold :).  I noticed our fresh tire tracks in the snow and thought how my friend, Xandre, might find it interesting because she never gets to see snow where she lives.  So, Xandre, today’s texture photo is for you!!  I even got bold and converted it to black and white, something that I never do but should try more often.  Hope you like it!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Photography, Snow & Ice, Texture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Tracks in the snow

  1. maenamor says:

    what a great post… lovely end to my day 🙂

  2. krikitarts says:

    Mmmmmm, I can just feel and hear the crunch–love it when that happens! I wanna see what’s up around the corner!

    • Yes, the crunch is nice, but we were a little concerned because we don’t have snow tires and it was fairly deep in some places LOL. Around the corner are fields and wooded areas covered in a blanket of white that never gets dirty and gross like in the city. It’s beautiful!!

  3. TBM says:

    I miss seeing snow like that. So pretty. And how cute is your son? He sounds like a proper gentlemen, walking her to her door.

    • Yes, my son has grown into a true gentleman, and he is turning 19 next week! I still can’t believe it. It seems like just yesterday we were bringing him home from the hospital, and now he has a serious girlfriend, and they already talk about their future together. It is so cute!!

  4. zannyro says:

    I feel like I could just bend down and scoop some up when I look at that!

  5. Cindy… You are Awesome!!!!!!!! 😀 I love your post!!!! 😀 I want to feel it all….. soft, hard, fluffy, rough, light, crunchy!!!!!! That looks super!!! & what a stunning photo!!! Love it in B/W…. you are right, you should definitely do this more often!!!! 😀 🙂 ***

  6. dafarmer says:

    I’m glad you converted it to B and W! It looks awesome! I wish we had snow too! I haven’t seen it since we left Northern Japan!

  7. That’s what is so great about blogging. I never thought about converting to B&W until I started following other blogs and saw how amazing B&W shots can be. Thanks for the compliment. I really appreciate it!! 🙂

  8. tadams4u says:

    I was lucky enough to take a helicopter ride one time across the back of the mountains in Utah once and the pure snow with the deer tracks was one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen. I hate being cold, but I love the snow….

  9. Zelmare says:

    Beautiful picture! 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m just curious. Have you ever seen snow? I know Xandre said that she has only seen a little bit one time on a trip which is so strange to me since I grew up with it. I actually hate winter, but I can’t imagine never having made a snowman or had a snowball fight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

