But it looks like a flower!

I am not a gardener by any means, but I definitely appreciate the beauty of a garden, and I love to photograph flowers and plants.  In keeping with my texture theme this week, I consider the garden a great place to examine different textures.

One plant that I love, mostly because it’s almost impossible for me to kill (lol), is hens and chicks, a type of low-lying succulent plant which stores water in its leaves, stem, and also in its roots.  What I love about this plant is how the leaves form around each other in a rosette.  Each section of the plant looks like a bloom from a flower.  They are available in different colours, and some do actually bloom, but I just have the green coloured plants in my garden.

Look closely at this photo and see how many textures you can find.  Obviously, the leaves themselves are smooth and soft, but the end of each leaf is sharp and there appear to be filaments down the sides of each leaf which give a fuzzy appearance.  When they flower, you add in even more textures from the long stalk and the blooms themselves.  Have you ever noticed all of the textures in your garden?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Flowers, Trees & Grass, Nature, Photography, Texture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to But it looks like a flower!

  1. Beautiful macro shot, Cindy. Love it, and it makes me pine for my garden. Soon, soon! Peas go in end of March/early April. This morning the birds were actually singing as if they thought it was spring. Love that sound! I’m going to post some wintry pix up on facebook soon – taken with an iPhone (not great quality) but the scenes were mind blowing the other day, like a winter wonderland. ;o)

  2. Thanks Aaron! I have taken some wintry shots lately too, but I am really looking forward to the colours and new life of Spring. My husband looks forward to starting his veggie garden too, but up here we can’t really plant anything until May because it’s not unusual for us to still have snow in April. Maybe not this year though!!

    • Tell me again where you guys are? I know you mentioned it but I think my brain has leaks or something. LOL.

      • We live In Southwestern Ontario, Northwest of Toronto – right in the snowbelt!!

      • Lovely! I bet it’s beautiful up there. We are about 4 hours from Toronto, if we go west to Buffalo to cross over the border. Great city, haven’t been in there way too long. ;o)

      • It is really beautiful up here! I grew up in Toronto, but it has been much nicer raising our kids in the country and still being close enough to visit the city for museums, shopping, etc. We are only about 1 1/2 hours from Toronto. I’ll tell you something – the descriptions in your books are really making me want to visit your area!! I love hills and mountains, and the Adirondacks sound heavenly :).

  3. Beautiful shot! We always referred to these as “Chicken Plants” when I was growing up. I wonder where that name originally came from?

    • Thank you! According to Wikipedia, “the “hen” is the main plant, and the “chicks” are the offspring, which start as tiny buds on the main plant and soon sprout their own roots, taking up residence close to the mother plant.” I love how you can just pull a “chick” off the plant and stuff it in the dirt anywhere, even in between rocks, and it will take off in no time.

  4. No problem. Glad to help :).

  5. is this like what we called biddies and hens in the south?

  6. Oh, I think they would grow great there. Isn’t Colorado fairly dry? I think the only thing that hens and chicks don’t do well in is overly wet conditions. Otherwise, they are really hardy!!

  7. TBM says:

    I bet I could kill this plant. I have special talents 🙂 Great shot!

Leave a Reply

