Pride Overflowing

When my boys were little, I always told them jokingly that they would have to live with me forever, and of course when they were little, they agreed.  Each of them has gone through many stages as they have grown up, some good and some not so good, but for each one I was always by their side.

That is all about to change.  My oldest son, Bryan, my baby no matter how old he gets, got his acceptance letter for college in the mail last week, and he will be living in residence away from home taking computer engineering technology.  When that all important letter arrived in the mail, I was overflowing with pride and wonder at what he has accomplished.

You see, Bryan did not have an easy start in this world.  He was born three weeks early by emergency c-section and suffered from hypoglycemia which, because it was not detected right away, caused him to have a seizure down one side of his body.  I will never forget being woken up in the middle of the night and led to the nursery only to see his tiny body, covered in wires and tubes, encased in an incubator.  They even tried to put an IV in his head!!  The emotions that I felt in those early days were the most difficult I have ever had to endure in my life.  Once everything was brought under control, we were told that there would be no lasting effects, but in fact the seizure caused a scar on his brain which down the road led to a diagnosis of epilepsy.  He is now pretty much controlled by medication, and I am so thankful that he has been able to lead a normal life.

Sometimes epilepsy can affect a child’s learning abilities, and every time that we visited the neurologist, the first thing they asked was how he was doing in school.  We were always happily able to report that he was a great student.  So, not only do I have the normal pride that my son is going to college, but the feelings go even deeper because of what he has had to deal with and what he has overcome and accomplished.

Now we start the process of applying for residence and school loans, and I must admit I am feeling a tiny bit overwhelmed.  I know he doesn’t start until September, but the planning starts now, and it’s hard to know where to begin.  So, if any of my blogger friends out there have any suggestions or tips for this journey he is about to embark on (you know, the little things that we might not think of) we would greatly appreciate it.  Bryan and I have always been very close and I love him to the moon and back, so I know that September is going to be a very difficult time for me, so any advice for me is welcomed too.

So, to celebrate this new stage in his life, my photo today is of my hubby holding a laughing baby Bryan up in the air (gotta love Mike’s long hair stage eh? LOL).  Bryan was born before the advent of digital photography, so this is an old snapshot that I scanned into my computer, and as a result the quality is not great.  However, this photo never fails to bring a smile to my face because you can feel his happiness overflowing from the picture.  I hope he will continue to experience true happiness through this next stage in his life!

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Family, Life, Love, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pride Overflowing

  1. Heather says:

    I love this picture, it makes you happy and sad. Why does time go by so fast? xo

  2. Aaaaaahhhhhh!!! Such a cute photo!!! & congrats are in order!!! What a great accomplishment amidst some tough years!!! All the best with the preparations & exciting new times Cindy!!! 🙂 **

    • Thanks Xandré! I really appreciate your kind words. He was such a cute baby, and now he has grown into a very handsome man who is totally ready to move on into the next stage of his life. It is definitely going to be exciting!

  3. krikitarts says:

    A wonderful old photo, Cindy, and you both deserve the congratulations!

  4. RJM says:

    Congrats to Bryan! University is such a fun time he will enjoy it!

    • Yes, I know he will! He got accepted to Conestoga College in Kitchener, so now he is just waiting to see if Cayley gets accepted at Wilfred Laurier so they will be close to each other!! LOL. Thanks for the congrats!

  5. Dor says:

    A darling photo! And your blogging friends, including this one, wish him that same great happiness in his future pursuits.

  6. TBM says:

    Great story! I’m so happy everything worked out. One of my childhood friends had epilepsy but it wasn’t discovered until he was an adult and he had a seizure while driving on a freeway in California. He crossed five lanes of traffic and crashed into a field. Miraculously he only suffered minor injuries and is now living a normal life and even got his pilot’s license–he only flies small planes.

    My only advice is for your son: enjoy every moment of college. Soon he will have to join the rat race, but for now, enjoy!

    • Thanks TBM! I will tell him. I know he’s going to have a blast! Wow, your friend was lucky! Bryan actually has to watch himself if he is driving when the sun is coming up or going down. He is sensitive to flashing lights, and if the sun is flashing through the trees at a high frequency, it can be dangerous for him. However, they have him on a medication now that is supposed to help with that, and he just has to know to pull over if the flashing is really bad. He’s one of the lucky ones though because there are many people who have way more and far more severe seizures than he does!

  7. Janine Rice says:

    Cindy that story brought tears to my eyes, when you and I met, your kids were only tiny boys and now handsome young men, with soo much to accomplish. You are a wonderful mother and I know how much you adore your boys. September will be hard for you both, but he is in the next stage of his life, and he will make you more and more proud everyday!

  8. dafarmer says:

    Thanks for sharing Cindy! I don’t have any suggestions on help…I can only empathize with you about a premature baby. My son, was born just last year 7 weeks early by emergency c-section. I guess he decided he was finished cooking! So, far the only problem we ever had was at the very beginning when he went under some respiratory distress for the first couple hours of his life. He is now a happy 4 month old on the brink of teething…. that is developing just fine.

    I know it will be hard to let your son go. I can’t even imagine it right now, but you’ll be s strong Mama and he’ll always be your baby no matter what age he is and you both know that. And when he finally has children of his own he’ll realize it even more and love you all the more for being his Mom. University is a hard transitional period in a person’s life, but I know you both will get through it. 🙂

  9. Thank you so much for this comment. It really moved me!! It’s funny what you said about him always being my baby. Whenever I call him my baby (not in public of course), he says he’s not a baby anymore. It annoys him I think :). My response is that he will always be my baby even after he is married with children of his own. I guess we mothers all think alike don’t we?

    Enjoy every moment with that adorable baby boy of yours. He is simply gorgeous, and I love his chubby little cheeks. They do grow up fast, but each stage is special in its own way. You sound like a great mommy!!

Leave a Reply

