Creepy crawly, slithering, flying critter week

Since I have already posted a picture of a spider and a snake this week, I thought I might as well continue on in the same vein and dub this week creepy crawly, slithering, flying critter week.  Besides flowers, I find insects, reptiles, and the like to be my next favourite to practise macro photography on, that is as long as they will stay still long enough for me to experiment.

This picture was taken in my front yard in Dundalk, Ontario.  Many butterflies and moths visit us during the summer months, but I have never seen a moth quite like this one before.  Or, maybe I have but only in flight where I am concentrating on their wings and not so much on their heads and bodies.  When I saw this little guy on our maple tree, I couldn’t believe how furry his head was.  I guess you learn something new every day because my son told me that moths generally have furry heads and bodies while butterflies don’t.  I never knew that!  Man it sucks when your kids become smarter than you!  Then my hubby told me that moths always have their wings folded in on their body or spread out to the side when they are in a resting position while butterflies hold their wings above their backs.  I didn’t know that either, but we are definitely not going to say he is smarter than me now are we?  Mike also told me that this is a gypsy moth, which is now considered one of the most destructive pests of hardwood trees.  It’s amazing what you can learn when you start to do a blog. 🙂

Between the different parts of the moth and the bark on the tree, there are many textures in this photo for the eyes to take in, and I find all of the colours and patterns pleasing to the eye as well.

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Insects, Arachnids, etc., Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creepy crawly, slithering, flying critter week

  1. TBM says:

    I think he’s cute. Looks like he is hugging the tree. I didn’t know they were destructive.

  2. krikitarts says:

    Hi, Cindy, You’re right about its identification as a gypsy moth, but it’s a female. Interestingly, according to one reference I looked up (http://www.gypsy-moth.com/gypsy-moth-4.htm), only the males can fly; if this is true, it’s no wonder, considering the size of your specimen’s abdomen. And yes, they can be serious pests.

  3. It’s good that you were able to play off the patterns and textures of the moth against those of the bark.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

