Boys will be boys!

When my sons were little, they loved to explore outside, and being boys they loved to look for bugs and reptiles.  My inlaws had a hobby farm out in the country with a barn behind the house, and whenever we went to visit, the boys would head out to the barn to search for snakes.  What is it about boys?  They seem to get a charge out of anything that slithers, and there is no fear involved.

On this particular day, my sister-in-law, Rhonda, was showing the boys the best place to find snakes, and Bryan (my oldest) was very proud of himself when he captured this cute little garter snake.  Don’t worry all of you animal lovers.  No harm was done to the snake in the making of this photo.  Although Bryan would have loved it if I had let him bring his little friend home, we made sure that he released him before we left.

Macro photography is not easy, at least I don’t think it is.  Out of 10 macro shots I might get one good one, so I was really proud of this one because I think the detail is pretty good and the green background just sets it off nicely.  Plus it makes me smile because it looks like the snake is smiling.  He’s kind of cute isn’t he?

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Nature, Photography, Reptiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Boys will be boys!

  1. krikitarts says:

    That sounds just like me when I was little–a very good sign indeed!

  2. Oh you boys are all alike! LOL 🙂

  3. tinalynne says:

    What a great shot! It’s so cute and delicate!

  4. Bindu John says:

    Hehe.. yeah, the snake is smiling.. While a student I used to draw pictures of smiling snakes to make my friends laugh during the class hours.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

