Inglis Falls up close

Yesterday I showed you just a glimpse of a waterfall in the distance, and I thought you might want to see what it looks like up close.  Inglis Falls is one of three waterfalls that surround the City of Owen Sound, Ontario, and it is located in a 200 hectare conservation area.  Inglis Falls is an 18 metre high cascade, created by the Sydenham River meeting the edge of the Niagara Escarpment. The erosive power of the water has carved a deep gorge at the base of the falls.

We explored this waterfall a couple of summers ago after finding a pamphlet about the Grey County Waterfall Tour.  We live in Grey County, and there are 7 beautiful waterfalls within its boundaries, most of which we were not even aware existed.  It took us two weekends to explore them all, but it was very worth it and so much fun.  Our boys came with us for some of them, and they had a blast exploring and even swimming underneath some of the falls.  It’s funny how something so beautiful can be right in your own backyard and you don’t even know it.  I think next summer I will make it my goal to find some other hidden  secrets of Grey County!

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Nature, Ontario, Photography, Rural Photography, Water/Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Inglis Falls up close

  1. TBM says:

    I love waterfalls!

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    I also love waterfalls. I love the sound of the falling water too 🙂

  3. David Hall says:

    Wonderful composition and I like how the waterfall is spreading out as it descends.

  4. Cool, not a usual waterfall. Nice composition 🙂

  5. Very nice shot, Cindy. There are a couple of schools of thought about shutter speed on shots like this. If it was me, and I had a tripod, I would really slow the shutter speed down to get that “silky” look to the water. To me it just gives a better impression of the movement of the water. But the composition is perfect! And the image is nice and sharp with great detail in the rocks.

    • Thank you for the compliments! I think maybe this summer I will plan a little bit better and visit this waterfall again with my tripod. I would love to try that effect with the slow shutter speed! There was a bit of climbing involved, and I am not as nimble as I used to be, but I have a nice backpack camera bag now that I purchased for just those type of hikes, and I will get my hubby to carry my tripod!!

  6. niki says:

    Beautiful and peaceful with an interesting shape!…hope to see more of these.

Leave a Reply

