Look up, look down

Mystery photo for the week done – back to photos of the big city!  I hope you’re not sick of them yet, but I still have some pictures of Toronto I want to share with you.  Actually, I have tons, but I will only bore you for a few more days :).

A visit to Toronto is never complete without taking a trip to the top of the CN Tower.  The CN Tower (so named because it was built by the Canadian National Railway Companyis a communications and observation tower which stands 1,815.4 feet tall.  It was completed in 1976, becoming the world’s tallest free-standing structure and world’s tallest tower at the time. It held both records for 34 years until the completion of Burj Khalifa in Dubai and Canton Tower in China. However, it is still the tallest free-standing structure in the Western Hemisphere.  I will never forget the day it was completed, and I think I even have the Toronto newspaper from that day somewhere here in the house.  It was a very exciting day for Torontonians!  In 1995, the CN Tower was declared one of the modern Seven Wonders of the World!!

My first photo today is from the ground looking up towards the top of the CN Tower (although there is still more tower above what you see), and the second picture is of my son, Bryan, sitting in the Lookout staring down over the city of Toronto 1,136 feet below.  I giggle when I look at this picture because you can see that Bryan has no fear.  However, you should have seen the look on my husband’s face when the boys and I walked, sat and lay on the glass floor one level below the Lookout which has a view 1,122 feet straight down.  We purposely jumped up and down on the glass just to make him more nervous, and he wouldn’t step foot on it no matter how much we begged and cajoled.  They now have a new attraction called the Edge Walk which is the world’s highest full circle hands-free walk on a 5 foot wide ledge encircling the top of the Tower’s main pod, 1168 feet (116 storeys) above the ground.  I would love to try that, but it is way too expensive for my budget!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Architecture, Blogging, Photography, Toronto, Ontario, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Look up, look down

  1. xandreverkes says:

    Oooooeeee…. lovely post!!! 🙂 I am well aware of this awesome structure….. but thank you so much for the extra information!!! I am not afraid of heights, but that second photo…. he is making me VERY nervous!!!! 😉 **

  2. Wow, Xandre, you are just making my day with all of the lovely compliments!! Trust me, having boys rather than girls makes me nervous on the best of days. They have always loved doing daring things to make me freak out – you know, climbing trees, jumping from high places, and other stuff like that. At least now that they are teenagers, they spend most of their time playing video games, so I can breathe a little easier because there is no physical danger there :)!!

  3. andy1076 says:

    They have a new feature now where you can walk on the roof and lean towards the ground, with fall arrest gear of course. Or is that the space needle down in Seattle?

  4. andy1076 says:

    Oh wait, never mind i clearly missed that part in your blog 🙂 my bad!

  5. dafarmer says:

    I love the picture of your son! Nice moment you captured there!

  6. Thanks! I have thousands of photos on my computer, and I am always amazed at the treasures I find that I had totally forgotten about! 🙂

  7. TBM says:

    Loved the photo of your son. That would make me nervous. I have a fear of heights.

  8. kerryl29 says:

    Reminds me of the Space Needle in Seattle (which I believe is on the list of Seven Great Overpriced Tourist Traps of the Modern World–the Space Needle I mean, not the CN Tower

    That’s quite a view you captured in that second photo!

    • Hey, I think the CN Tower is on that overpriced list too!! The prices are crazy! At least it’s not something you need to see multiple times in your life. The view is quite breathtaking though that’s for sure :).

Leave a Reply

