Like father, like son

When children are little, people often comment on how much they look like their mother or father.  As toddlers and young boys, my sons seemed to change from year to year, sometimes looking like their dad while other times resembling me.  As they grew up, they each took on a look of their own, but there will always be a family resemblance.

Personalities sometimes mimic the parents as well.  It becomes more and more apparent as the years go by that my oldest son, Bryan, takes after me in many respects and my younger son, Daniel, takes after his dad.  Lately, Daniel has become like a little clone of my husband.  Among other qualities, they have the exact same sarcastic and sick sense of humour and quite often I have heard people saying, “Wow, you are so much like your Dad”.  They are like two peas in a pod!  Trust me though, this is not a bad thing (well, most of the time anyway).  If Daniel grows up to be even half the man his father is, he will make an excellent husband, although I’m sure he will drive his wife crazy quite a bit of the time!!

Every time Daniel does or says something that reminds me of Mike, I think of these two photos.  They were taken on different days (and Daniel is quite a bit older now) but are so alike (except for how much more tanned my hubby is) that it makes me laugh every time I look at them.  I also just noticed today the cool reflection of the sun in Mike’s sunglasses.  I sure wish I was sitting in the sun today, but instead we are dealing with -20 degrees celsius temperatures and a windchill of -32.  Brrrrr!!!!  And yes, in case any of you are wondering, I did have to go to work today.  It didn’t storm quite enough to keep me at home. 😦

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Photography, Summer, Sunshine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Like father, like son

  1. kerryl29 says:

    “Lately, Daniel has become like a little clone of my husband.”

    Does this mean that Daniel will soon be asking you to wrap your own presents? 🙂
    (In reference to a pre-Xmas blog entry.)

    • Wow, you have no idea how much you just made me laugh!! It is worse than that – he tells me to get in the kitchen where I belong and make him a sandwich! Of course, this is all in fun. He just wants to see if I can still run fast enough to catch him and lay a mean beating on him! The problem is, he is way faster than me. Like I said, his sense of humour is incredible and lucky for him I have a good sense of humour too!

  2. I hate to admit it, but people say I have some parts resembling my dad and mom (and a lot like my grandma for some reason XD).

    • When you mentioned your Grandma it reminded me of mine. I was always as skinny as a rail when I was a kid, and my Grandma always said, “Enjoy it now because one day you will look like me”. Well, I guess she was right because I’m a lot more round now than I was back then!! LOL

  3. TBM says:

    Lovely family. I would love to catch some rays. Summer is coming!

Leave a Reply

