Old and New

I know absolutely nothing about architecture, but I can definitely appreciate the beauty in different structures.  Whenever we take a trip down to the big city of Toronto (where I grew up), I love to photograph the different buildings downtown because there is such a mixture of old and new architecture.  Each has its appealing qualities, but it fascinates me to see them side by side and compare them.  It provides such an interesting contrast. This photo was taken at the intersection of King and Simcoe Streets in Toronto, Ontario.  The old building is St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church which was built in the Romanesque Revival style and opened for worship in 1876.  Where once it was probably one of the tallest buildings in the area, it is now dwarfed by the massive glass skyscrapers of the modern era.

Old and new

This entry was posted in Architecture, Blogging, Photography, Toronto, Ontario and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Old and New

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    That is a very interesting contrast. Great photo 🙂

  2. Thanks! I don’t know if I can put this into words properly or not, but I like this photo because it really makes my mind work. It’s thought provoking.

  3. David Hall says:

    Captured the contrast beautifully.

Leave a Reply

